Tangem Pay vs Wirex

The cheaper card changes with your spending. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • At $500 a month, Wirex comes out $84 a year ahead. At $2,000 a month, Wirex comes out $48 a year ahead. At $5,000 a month, Tangem Pay comes out $24 a year ahead.
  • Tangem Pay is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Wirex is self-custody as well.
  • On our safety check, Tangem Pay scores 80/100 (Strong) and Wirex scores 85/100 (Strong).
  • Overall, Wirex rates 68/100 against 41/100 for Tangem Pay, helped by its reach: it is offered in 73 countries and territories against an unpublished number for Tangem Pay.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Tangem Pay · Basic (free)+$72
  • Wirex · Base≤ +$120

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureTangem PayWirex
Countries offeredList not published73 countries
Card networkVisaMastercard
CustodySelf-custodySelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, USDTUSDC, USDT, EURC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion fee0%0%
FX markup1.5%0% (better)
ATM fee4%No card fee
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback1% to 2% (better)0.5% to 8%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayNot listed
Safety score80/10085/100 (better)
Overall rating41/10068/100 (better)
Get the cardGet Tangem PayGet Wirex

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendTangem PayWirex
$500-$54
Basic (free)
≤ +$30
Base
$2,000+$72
Basic (free)
≤ +$120
Base
$5,000+$324
Basic (free)
≤ +$300
Base

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineTangem Pay
Basic (free)
Wirex
Base
Top-up and conversion fees$0$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$72$0
ATM fees-$96Not disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback+$240+$120
Net per year+$72+$120

Fees

Tangem Pay charges 0% to convert or top up and 1.5% on spending in a foreign currency. Wirex charges 0% and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: Tangem Pay 4%; Wirex no card fee.

A virtual card costs nothing with Tangem Pay and nothing with Wirex. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Tangem Pay cashback: 1% to 2%. Wirex cashback: 0.5% to 8%.

Tangem Pay tiers: Basic (free): 1% on the first $10,000 a month, capped at $100 a month; Plus ($29.99 a month): 2% on the first $15,000 a month, capped at $300 a month.

Wirex tiers: Base: 0.5%; Premium: 1%; Elite: 3%; Private: 5%; Bespoke: 8%.

Tangem Pay: Paid in USDC at the end of each billing cycle. Only purchases of $30 or more earn cashback, and in-store purchases at EU and UK merchants are excluded. The Plus plan fee is waived with $4,500 of monthly spending. A $999-a-year Prestige plan with 4% cashback is listed as coming soon.

Wirex: Cashback is paid in USD, with no monthly cap and no subscription. Your tier depends on two things together, portfolio value and the share of it held in the $WPAY token. It is recalculated daily, and a downgrade waits 24 hours. Users moved from X-tras plans keep legacy rates (Base 1%, Premium 3%, Elite 8%) for about 3 months.

Availability and KYC

Tangem Pay does not publish a country list. Tangem says the card is available in the US (not every state) and in select countries across Latin America, Asia-Pacific, the Middle East and Africa. It does not publish a country list; eligibility is checked in the app during onboarding.

Wirex is offered in 73 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, Australia and Malaysia. In 2026 Wirex moved its consumer app to Wirex One, a self-custodial wallet (keys held through Privy) with fiat accounts and the card as regulated add-ons. The old Wirex app becomes read-only once an account moves over. The card issuer depends on region (see issuer), but fees and rewards are the same everywhere. You can receive crypto without verification; the card needs KYC.

Tangem Pay needs full KYC and Wirex needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Tangem Pay publishes a daily spending limit of $10,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $750 a day.

Wirex publishes a daily spending limit of €30,000, a monthly limit of €30,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €750 a day.

Tangem Pay works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Wirex does not list either. Tangem Pay issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Tangem Pay scores 80/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Card issued by Nimbus LLC dba Third National, licensed as a Money Transmitter by the Commissioner of Financial Institutions of Puerto Rico (licence TM-0207, NMLS 2612780). Tangem's own pages name Rain, a Visa Principal Member, as the issuer; Third National's site runs on Rain's legal pages.). The card is issued through Nimbus LLC dba Third National. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Tangem Pay is run by Paera LLC, not Tangem AG. The card is legally a collateralised charge card. Your USDC or USDT sits in a smart contract you control, but Paera can liquidate it if a balance goes unpaid. The terms list a late fee of up to $40 and a liquidation penalty of up to $35. They also ask for 3 business days' notice before you withdraw collateral, while the app FAQ says you can withdraw at any time. The account is tied to a single Tangem Wallet, and losing that wallet means losing access to the card balance.

Wirex scores 85/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Transact Payments Malta Limited. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Card spending draws on assets in the user's self-custodial wallet. Fiat IBAN balances are a regulated service run through third-party providers. We found no official enforcement action or hack for 2024 to 2026. The H1 2026 Transparency Report covers financial-crime metrics, not reserves.

Full reports: Tangem Pay safety check and Wirex safety check.

About each card

Tangem Pay is a self-custody Visa card from Paera LLC (Tangem Pay program). It tops up with USDC and USDT.

Wirex One Card is a self-custody Mastercard from UAB Wirex (Lithuania), part of the Wirex Group. It tops up with USDC, USDT, EURC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

Tangem Pay fits if

  • Its fees and availability match your situation better on the table above.

Wirex fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 8%).
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: Tangem Pay fees and details · Wirex fees and details

Tangem Pay vs Wirex: questions

Which is cheaper, Tangem Pay or Wirex?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Wirex leaves $48 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Tangem Pay and Wirex in the same country?
One of the two issuers does not publish a country list, so we cannot confirm overlap. Country list not published for Tangem Pay; 73 countries for Wirex.
Is Tangem Pay or Wirex safer?
Wirex scores higher on our safety check (85/100 against 80/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Tangem Pay or Wirex?
Tangem Pay pays 1% to 2% and Wirex pays 0.5% to 8%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Tangem Pay: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  2. Tangem Pay: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  3. Tangem Pay: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  4. Tangem Pay: safety · checked September 28, 2026
  5. Wirex One Card: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Wirex One Card: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Wirex One Card: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Wirex One Card: safety · checked September 28, 2026