Plutus vs Bitpanda

Bitpanda costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Bitpanda leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $83.02 a year more at $500 a month, $353.02 a year more at $2,000 a month, $893.02 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Plutus is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Bitpanda is custodial as well.
  • On our safety check, Plutus scores 44/100 (Fair) and Bitpanda scores 68/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Bitpanda rates 54/100 against 25/100 for Plutus, helped by its reach: it is offered in 21 countries and territories against an unpublished number for Plutus.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Plutus · Starter (€6.99 a month)≤ -$113.02
  • Bitpanda · Standard≤ +$240

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeaturePlutusBitpanda
Countries offeredList not published21 countries
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsEUR, GBPEUR, BTC, ETH, USDC
Top-up or conversion fee0%Not disclosed
FX markup2.5%0% (better)
ATM fee2.5%2%
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical €9.99Virtual Not disclosed · Physical Free
Cashback3% (better)1%
Apple Pay / Google PayNot listedApple Pay
Safety score44/10068/100 (better)
Overall rating25/10054/100 (better)
Get the cardGet PlutusGet Bitpanda

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendPlutusBitpanda
$500≤ -$23.02
Starter (€6.99 a month)
≤ +$60
Standard
$2,000≤ -$113.02
Starter (€6.99 a month)
≤ +$240
Standard
$5,000≤ -$293.02
Starter (€6.99 a month)
≤ +$600
Standard

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LinePlutus
Starter (€6.99 a month)
Bitpanda
Standard
Top-up and conversion fees$0Not disclosed
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$120$0
ATM feesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees-$95.60$0
Cashback+$102.58+$240
Net per year-$113.02+$240

Fees

Plutus charges 0% to convert or top up and 2.5% on spending in a foreign currency. Bitpanda charges Not disclosed and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: Plutus 2.5%; Bitpanda 2%.

A virtual card costs nothing with Plutus and an undisclosed fee with Bitpanda. A physical card costs €9.99 and nothing. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Plutus cashback: 3%. Bitpanda cashback: 1%.

Plutus tiers: Starter (€6.99 a month): 3% on the first €250 a month; Everyday (€9.99 a month): 3% on the first €500 a month; Premium (€19.99 a month): 3% on the first €1,000 a month.

Bitpanda tiers: Standard: 1%.

Plutus: Rewards are paid in PLU. Holding more PLU raises the rate from 3% up to 9% and unlocks perks. Plan prices include a promotional discount shown on Plutus's plans page; the fees shown are the same in GBP.

Bitpanda: Cashback applies only when a crypto asset is the payment asset. Payments from EUR, stablecoins, stocks or metals earn none. ATM withdrawals cost at least €2.

Availability and KYC

Plutus does not publish a country list. Plutus offers EUR and GBP cards and does not publish a country list on its fees page.

Bitpanda is offered in 21 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. Bitpanda says you must live in a country in the euro area. Its fee table also lists Swedish, Norwegian and Danish krone versions of the card.

Plutus needs full KYC and Bitpanda needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Plutus publishes a daily spending limit of €500,000 and a monthly limit of €1,000,000.

Bitpanda publishes ATM withdrawals of up to €500 a day.

Plutus does not list Apple Pay or Google Pay support, and Bitpanda works with Apple Pay. Plutus issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Plutus scores 44/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Plutus refers to a banking partner for its card but does not name the issuer on its fees and plans pages.

Bitpanda scores 68/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Transact Payments Malta Limited. 2026-08-14: Austria's FMA fined Bitpanda GmbH €70,000 for breaches of MiCA white paper and marketing rules. The case did not involve customer funds. Bitpanda's custody policy says client crypto-assets are held as trustee, operationally and legally segregated from Bitpanda's own assets.

Full reports: Plutus safety check and Bitpanda safety check.

About each card

Plutus Card is a custodial Visa card from Plutus (Block Code Ltd, UK; Block Code LT UAB, Lithuania). It tops up with EUR and GBP and its balance is held in EUR.

Bitpanda Card is a custodial Visa card from Bitpanda (card issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited). It tops up with EUR, BTC, ETH and USDC and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

Plutus fits if

  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 3%).

Bitpanda fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: Plutus fees and details · Bitpanda fees and details

Plutus vs Bitpanda: questions

Which is cheaper, Plutus or Bitpanda?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Bitpanda leaves $353.02 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Plutus and Bitpanda in the same country?
One of the two issuers does not publish a country list, so we cannot confirm overlap. Country list not published for Plutus; 21 countries for Bitpanda.
Is Plutus or Bitpanda safer?
Bitpanda scores higher on our safety check (68/100 against 44/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Plutus or Bitpanda?
Plutus pays 3% and Bitpanda pays 1%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Plutus Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Plutus Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Plutus Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Plutus Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Bitpanda Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. Bitpanda Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  7. Bitpanda Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. Bitpanda Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026