Plutus vs ether.fi Cash

ether.fi Cash costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • ether.fi Cash leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $185.13 a year more at $500 a month, $761.13 a year more at $2,000 a month, $833.13 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Plutus is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. ether.fi Cash is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, Plutus scores 44/100 (Fair) and ether.fi Cash scores 60/100 (Good).
  • Overall, ether.fi Cash rates 75/100 against 25/100 for Plutus, helped by its reach: it is offered in 91 countries and territories against an unpublished number for Plutus.

Yearly cost at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month). A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees.

  • Plutus · Starter (€6.99 a month)≥ $113.13
  • ether.fi Cash · Core≥ -$648

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeaturePlutusether.fi Cash
Countries offeredList not published91 countries
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsEUR, GBPUSDC, ETH
Top-up or conversion fee0%Not disclosed
FX markup2.5%1.5% (better)
ATM fee2.5%Not disclosed
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical €9.99Virtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback3%3% to 4%
Apple Pay / Google PayNot listedApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score44/10060/100 (better)
Overall rating25/10075/100 (better)
Get the cardGet PlutusGet ether.fi Cash

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendPlutusether.fi Cash
$500≥ $23.13
Starter (€6.99 a month)
≥ -$162
Core
$2,000≥ $113.13
Starter (€6.99 a month)
≥ -$648
Core
$5,000≥ $293.13
Starter (€6.99 a month)
≥ -$540
Core

Yearly cost: conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees minus cashback. A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LinePlutus
Starter (€6.99 a month)
ether.fi Cash
Core
Top-up and conversion fees$0Not disclosed
Spending fees$0Not disclosed
Foreign exchange markup$120$72
ATM feesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$94.22$0
Cashback-$101.09-$720
Yearly cost$113.13-$648

Fees

Plutus charges 0% to convert or top up and 2.5% on spending in a foreign currency. ether.fi Cash charges Not disclosed and 1.5%.

ATM withdrawals: Plutus 2.5%; ether.fi Cash not disclosed.

A virtual card costs nothing with Plutus and nothing with ether.fi Cash. A physical card costs €9.99 and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Plutus cashback: 3%. ether.fi Cash cashback: 3% to 4%.

Plutus tiers: Starter (€6.99 a month): 3% on the first €250 a month; Everyday (€9.99 a month): 3% on the first €500 a month; Premium (€19.99 a month): 3% on the first €1,000 a month.

ether.fi Cash tiers: Core: 3% on the first $2,000 a month; Luxe: 3% on the first $10,000 a month; Pinnacle: 3% on the first $50,000 a month; VIP: 4% on the first $50,000 a month.

Plutus: Rewards are paid in PLU. Holding more PLU raises the rate from 3% up to 9% and unlocks perks. Plan prices include a promotional discount shown on Plutus's plans page; the fees shown are the same in GBP.

ether.fi Cash: Membership levels also add category cashback (10% to 30% on AI, streaming and food, capped monthly), travel discounts and account balance protection against smart contract exploits of $10,000 to $500,000, which is not deposit insurance.

Availability and KYC

Plutus does not publish a country list. Plutus offers EUR and GBP cards and does not publish a country list on its fees page.

ether.fi Cash is offered in 91 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia and Mexico. ether.fi lists these jurisdictions. In the US the card is available in 31 states and Washington D.C. only. Belgium and Ireland are eligible, but physical cards are not delivered there. In some countries (including Argentina, Indonesia, Mexico, Nigeria and the Philippines) the first virtual card costs $10.

Plutus needs full KYC and ether.fi Cash needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Plutus publishes a daily spending limit of €500,000 and a monthly limit of €1,000,000.

ether.fi Cash publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $5,000 a day.

Plutus does not list Apple Pay or Google Pay support, and ether.fi Cash works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Plutus issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Plutus scores 44/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Plutus refers to a banking partner for its card but does not name the issuer on its fees and plans pages.

ether.fi Cash scores 60/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. ether.fi describes Cash as a non-custodial account. The ATM fee on Core is not published as a fixed figure.

Full reports: Plutus safety check and ether.fi Cash safety check.

About each card

Plutus Card is a custodial Visa card from Plutus (Block Code Ltd, UK; Block Code LT UAB, Lithuania). It tops up with EUR and GBP and its balance is held in EUR.

ether.fi Cash Card is a self-custody Visa card from ether.fi. It tops up with USDC and ETH.

Which card fits you

Plutus fits if

  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.

ether.fi Cash fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 4%).
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: Plutus fees and details · ether.fi Cash fees and details

Plutus vs ether.fi Cash: questions

Which is cheaper, Plutus or ether.fi Cash?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, ether.fi Cash leaves $761.13 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Plutus and ether.fi Cash in the same country?
One of the two issuers does not publish a country list, so we cannot confirm overlap. Country list not published for Plutus; 91 countries for ether.fi Cash.
Is Plutus or ether.fi Cash safer?
ether.fi Cash scores higher on our safety check (60/100 against 44/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Plutus or ether.fi Cash?
Plutus pays 3% and ether.fi Cash pays 3% to 4%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Plutus Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Plutus Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Plutus Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Plutus Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. ether.fi Cash Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. ether.fi Cash Card: availability · checked September 25, 2026
  7. ether.fi Cash Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. ether.fi Cash Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026