CL Card vs Tangem Pay

Tangem Pay costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Tangem Pay leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $88.15 a year more at $500 a month, $394.15 a year more at $2,000 a month, $1,006 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • CL Card is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Tangem Pay is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, CL Card scores 64/100 (Good) and Tangem Pay scores 80/100 (Strong).
  • Overall, CL Card rates 43/100 against 41/100 for Tangem Pay, helped by its reach: it is offered in 37 countries and territories against an unpublished number for Tangem Pay.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • CL Card · Standard-$322.15
  • Tangem Pay · Basic (free)+$72
Crypto card comparison
FeatureCL CardTangem Pay
Countries offered37 countriesList not published
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsBTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP, SOLUSDC, USDT
Top-up or conversion fee2%0% (better)
FX markup0% (better)1.5%
ATM fee€2.504%
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback1% to 2%1% to 2%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score64/10080/100 (better)
Overall rating43/100 (better)41/100
Get the cardGet CL CardGet Tangem Pay

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendCL CardTangem Pay
$500-$142.15
Standard
-$54
Basic (free)
$2,000-$322.15
Standard
+$72
Basic (free)
$5,000-$682.15
Standard
+$324
Basic (free)

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineCL Card
Standard
Tangem Pay
Basic (free)
Top-up and conversion fees-$528$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup$0-$72
ATM fees-$34.15-$96
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback+$240+$240
Net per year-$322.15+$72

Fees

CL Card charges 2% to convert or top up and 0% on spending in a foreign currency. Tangem Pay charges 0% and 1.5%.

The conversion fee applies to every dollar you load, so Tangem Pay's lower rate matters most for everyday spending in your home currency. On $1,000 of spending, the gap is $20.

ATM withdrawals: CL Card €2.50; Tangem Pay 4%.

A virtual card costs nothing with CL Card and nothing with Tangem Pay. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

CL Card cashback: 1% to 2%. Tangem Pay cashback: 1% to 2%.

CL Card tiers: Standard: 1%; BXX rewards: 2%.

Tangem Pay tiers: Basic (free): 1% on the first $10,000 a month, capped at $100 a month; Plus ($29.99 a month): 2% on the first $15,000 a month, capped at $300 a month.

CL Card: Ledger's page says "1% cashback in BTC, USDC, or USDT" (BTC or USDC in the US, BTC or USDT elsewhere), claimed from the Loyalty program page. CL's own FAQ also offers 2% if you take the reward in Baanx's BXX token. Spending funded by the Cryptodraft credit line earns nothing. No spend or reward cap is published.

Tangem Pay: Paid in USDC at the end of each billing cycle. Only purchases of $30 or more earn cashback, and in-store purchases at EU and UK merchants are excluded. The Plus plan fee is waived with $4,500 of monthly spending. A $999-a-year Prestige plan with 4% cashback is listed as coming soon.

Availability and KYC

CL Card is offered in 37 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, United States and Canada. Ledger says "The CL Card is currently available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, and Brazil." This file uses the EU fee schedule. You do not need a Ledger device to get the card.

Tangem Pay does not publish a country list. Tangem says the card is available in the US (not every state) and in select countries across Latin America, Asia-Pacific, the Middle East and Africa. It does not publish a country list; eligibility is checked in the app during onboarding.

CL Card needs full KYC and Tangem Pay needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

CL Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Tangem Pay publishes a daily spending limit of $10,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to $750 a day.

CL Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Tangem Pay works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. CL Card and Tangem Pay issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

CL Card scores 64/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through UAB Monavate. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Only money loaded to the card as e-money is safeguarded under e-money rules. Crypto deposited to the CL platform becomes Baanx's property, and Baanx's terms warn that "in the event that any of Us becomes insolvent ... You may not be able to have the full value of Your deposits restored". Baanx describes its crypto services as "not regulated financial services". We could not find a published proof-of-reserves report. We found no official enforcement actions against the card providers. Ledger's own past security incidents are not listed, because Ledger does not provide or hold funds for the card.

Tangem Pay scores 80/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Card issued by Nimbus LLC dba Third National, licensed as a Money Transmitter by the Commissioner of Financial Institutions of Puerto Rico (licence TM-0207, NMLS 2612780). Tangem's own pages name Rain, a Visa Principal Member, as the issuer; Third National's site runs on Rain's legal pages.). The card is issued through Nimbus LLC dba Third National. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Tangem Pay is run by Paera LLC, not Tangem AG. The card is legally a collateralised charge card. Your USDC or USDT sits in a smart contract you control, but Paera can liquidate it if a balance goes unpaid. The terms list a late fee of up to $40 and a liquidation penalty of up to $35. They also ask for 3 business days' notice before you withdraw collateral, while the app FAQ says you can withdraw at any time. The account is tied to a single Tangem Wallet, and losing that wallet means losing access to the card balance.

Full reports: CL Card safety check and Tangem Pay safety check.

About each card

Ledger CL Card (Europe) is a custodial Visa card from Baanx (CL Card), card account by UAB Monavate. It tops up with BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP and SOL and its balance is held in EUR.

Tangem Pay is a self-custody Visa card from Paera LLC (Tangem Pay program). It tops up with USDC and USDT.

Which card fits you

CL Card fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.

Tangem Pay fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: CL Card fees and details · Tangem Pay fees and details

CL Card vs Tangem Pay: questions

Which is cheaper, CL Card or Tangem Pay?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Tangem Pay leaves $394.15 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use CL Card and Tangem Pay in the same country?
One of the two issuers does not publish a country list, so we cannot confirm overlap. 37 countries for CL Card; country list not published for Tangem Pay.
Is CL Card or Tangem Pay safer?
Tangem Pay scores higher on our safety check (80/100 against 64/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, CL Card or Tangem Pay?
CL Card pays 1% to 2% and Tangem Pay pays 1% to 2%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Ledger CL Card (Europe): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  2. Ledger CL Card (Europe): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  3. Ledger CL Card (Europe): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  4. Ledger CL Card (Europe): safety · checked September 28, 2026
  5. Tangem Pay: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Tangem Pay: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Tangem Pay: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Tangem Pay: safety · checked September 28, 2026