OKX Card vs Plutus

OKX Card costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • OKX Card leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $134.62 a year more at $500 a month, $566.62 a year more at $2,000 a month, $914.49 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • OKX Card is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Plutus is custodial.
  • On our safety check, OKX Card scores 74/100 (Good) and Plutus scores 44/100 (Fair).
  • Overall, OKX Card rates 64/100 against 25/100 for Plutus, helped by its reach: it is offered in 28 countries and territories against an unpublished number for Plutus.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • OKX Card · Non-VIP≤ +$453.60
  • Plutus · Starter (€6.99 a month)≤ -$113.02

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureOKX CardPlutus
Countries offered28 countriesList not published
Card networkMastercardVisa
CustodySelf-custodyCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, USDGEUR, GBP
Top-up or conversion fee0.1%0% (better)
FX markup0% (better)2.5%
ATM feeNo ATM access (virtual card only)2.5%
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical €9.99
Cashback2% to 10%3% (better)
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayNot listed
Safety score74/100 (better)44/100
Overall rating64/100 (better)25/100
Get the cardGet OKX CardGet Plutus

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendOKX CardPlutus
$500≤ +$111.60
Non-VIP
≤ -$23.02
Starter (€6.99 a month)
$2,000≤ +$453.60
Non-VIP
≤ -$113.02
Starter (€6.99 a month)
$5,000≤ +$621.46
Non-VIP
≤ -$293.02
Starter (€6.99 a month)

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineOKX Card
Non-VIP
Plutus
Starter (€6.99 a month)
Top-up and conversion fees-$26.40$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup$0-$120
ATM feesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0-$95.60
Cashback+$480+$102.58
Net per year+$453.60-$113.02

Fees

OKX Card charges 0.1% to convert or top up and 0% on spending in a foreign currency. Plutus charges 0% and 2.5%.

The conversion fee applies to every dollar you load, so Plutus's lower rate matters most for everyday spending in your home currency. On $1,000 of spending, the gap is $1.

ATM withdrawals: OKX Card no atm access (virtual card only); Plutus 2.5%.

A virtual card costs nothing with OKX Card and nothing with Plutus. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and €9.99. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

OKX Card cashback: 2% to 10%. Plutus cashback: 3%.

OKX Card tiers: Non-VIP: 2% on the first €2,500 a month, capped at €50 a month; VIP 1: 4% on the first €7,500 a month, capped at €300 a month; VIP 2: 4.5% on the first €10,000 a month, capped at €450 a month; VIP 3: 5% on the first €20,000 a month, capped at €1,000 a month; VIP 4+: 10% on the first €10,000 a month, capped at €1,000 a month.

Plutus tiers: Starter (€6.99 a month): 3% on the first €250 a month; Everyday (€9.99 a month): 3% on the first €500 a month; Premium (€19.99 a month): 3% on the first €1,000 a month.

OKX Card: Cashback is earned only on purchases paid with USDG and is credited in USDG. The VIP level depends on your OKX balance and trading volume. Rates apply from 1 September 2026.

Plutus: Rewards are paid in PLU. Holding more PLU raises the rate from 3% up to 9% and unlocks perks. Plan prices include a promotional discount shown on Plutus's plans page; the fees shown are the same in GBP.

Availability and KYC

OKX Card is offered in 28 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. Available across the EU and Norway, excluding Iceland and Liechtenstein. The card is virtual only for now.

Plutus does not publish a country list. Plutus offers EUR and GBP cards and does not publish a country list on its fees page.

OKX Card needs full KYC and Plutus needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

OKX Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Plutus publishes a daily spending limit of €500,000 and a monthly limit of €1,000,000.

OKX Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Plutus does not list either. OKX Card and Plutus issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

OKX Card scores 74/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (MiCA crypto-asset service provider licence from the Malta Financial Services Authority (OKX Europe Limited); OKX says the card itself is not a MiCA-licensed product). 2025-02-24: Aux Cayes FinTech Co. Ltd., an OKX operator, pleaded guilty in the US to operating an unlicensed money transmitting business and agreed to pay more than $504 million. 2025-04-03: Malta's Financial Intelligence Analysis Unit fined OKX's European entity €1.1 million for anti-money laundering failures in 2023. OKX publishes a monthly proof of reserves; the 45th report was published on 30 July 2026.

Plutus scores 44/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Plutus refers to a banking partner for its card but does not name the issuer on its fees and plans pages.

Full reports: OKX Card safety check and Plutus safety check.

About each card

OKX Card (Europe) is a self-custody Mastercard from OKX Europe Limited (Malta). It tops up with USDC and USDG and its balance is held in EUR.

Plutus Card is a custodial Visa card from Plutus (Block Code Ltd, UK; Block Code LT UAB, Lithuania). It tops up with EUR and GBP and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

OKX Card fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 10%).
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Plutus fits if

  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.

Read more: OKX Card fees and details · Plutus fees and details

OKX Card vs Plutus: questions

Which is cheaper, OKX Card or Plutus?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, OKX Card leaves $566.62 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use OKX Card and Plutus in the same country?
One of the two issuers does not publish a country list, so we cannot confirm overlap. 28 countries for OKX Card; country list not published for Plutus.
Is OKX Card or Plutus safer?
OKX Card scores higher on our safety check (74/100 against 44/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, OKX Card or Plutus?
OKX Card pays 2% to 10% and Plutus pays 3%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. OKX Card (Europe): fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. OKX Card (Europe): availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. OKX Card (Europe): cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. OKX Card (Europe): safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Plutus Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. Plutus Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  7. Plutus Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. Plutus Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026