Plutus vs CL Card

Plutus costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Plutus leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $119.12 a year more at $500 a month, $209.12 a year more at $2,000 a month, $389.12 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Plutus is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. CL Card is custodial as well.
  • On our safety check, Plutus scores 44/100 (Fair) and CL Card scores 64/100 (Good).
  • Overall, CL Card rates 43/100 against 25/100 for Plutus, helped by its reach: it is offered in 37 countries and territories against an unpublished number for Plutus.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Plutus · Starter (€6.99 a month)≤ -$113.03
  • CL Card · Standard-$322.15

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeaturePlutusCL Card
Countries offeredList not published37 countries
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsEUR, GBPBTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP, SOL
Top-up or conversion fee0% (better)2%
FX markup2.5%0% (better)
ATM fee2.5%€2.50
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical €9.99Virtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback3% (better)1% to 2%
Apple Pay / Google PayNot listedApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score44/10064/100 (better)
Overall rating25/10043/100 (better)
Get the cardGet PlutusGet CL Card

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendPlutusCL Card
$500≤ -$23.03
Starter (€6.99 a month)
-$142.15
Standard
$2,000≤ -$113.03
Starter (€6.99 a month)
-$322.15
Standard
$5,000≤ -$293.03
Starter (€6.99 a month)
-$682.15
Standard

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LinePlutus
Starter (€6.99 a month)
CL Card
Standard
Top-up and conversion fees$0-$528
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$120$0
ATM feesNot disclosed-$34.15
Annual, monthly and subscription fees-$95.50$0
Cashback+$102.46+$240
Net per year-$113.03-$322.15

Fees

Plutus charges 0% to convert or top up and 2.5% on spending in a foreign currency. CL Card charges 2% and 0%.

The conversion fee applies to every dollar you load, so Plutus's lower rate matters most for everyday spending in your home currency. On $1,000 of spending, the gap is $20.

ATM withdrawals: Plutus 2.5%; CL Card €2.50.

A virtual card costs nothing with Plutus and nothing with CL Card. A physical card costs €9.99 and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Plutus cashback: 3%. CL Card cashback: 1% to 2%.

Plutus tiers: Starter (€6.99 a month): 3% on the first €250 a month; Everyday (€9.99 a month): 3% on the first €500 a month; Premium (€19.99 a month): 3% on the first €1,000 a month.

CL Card tiers: Standard: 1%; BXX rewards: 2%.

Plutus: Rewards are paid in PLU. Holding more PLU raises the rate from 3% up to 9% and unlocks perks. Plan prices include a promotional discount shown on Plutus's plans page; the fees shown are the same in GBP.

CL Card: Ledger's page says "1% cashback in BTC, USDC, or USDT" (BTC or USDC in the US, BTC or USDT elsewhere), claimed from the Loyalty program page. CL's own FAQ also offers 2% if you take the reward in Baanx's BXX token. Spending funded by the Cryptodraft credit line earns nothing. No spend or reward cap is published.

Availability and KYC

Plutus does not publish a country list. Plutus offers EUR and GBP cards and does not publish a country list on its fees page.

CL Card is offered in 37 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, United States and Canada. Ledger says "The CL Card is currently available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, and Brazil." This file uses the EU fee schedule. You do not need a Ledger device to get the card.

Plutus needs full KYC and CL Card needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Plutus publishes a daily spending limit of €500,000 and a monthly limit of €1,000,000.

CL Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Plutus does not list Apple Pay or Google Pay support, and CL Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Plutus and CL Card issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Plutus scores 44/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Plutus refers to a banking partner for its card but does not name the issuer on its fees and plans pages.

CL Card scores 64/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through UAB Monavate. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Only money loaded to the card as e-money is safeguarded under e-money rules. Crypto deposited to the CL platform becomes Baanx's property, and Baanx's terms warn that "in the event that any of Us becomes insolvent ... You may not be able to have the full value of Your deposits restored". Baanx describes its crypto services as "not regulated financial services". We could not find a published proof-of-reserves report. We found no official enforcement actions against the card providers. Ledger's own past security incidents are not listed, because Ledger does not provide or hold funds for the card.

Full reports: Plutus safety check and CL Card safety check.

About each card

Plutus Card is a custodial Visa card from Plutus (Block Code Ltd, UK; Block Code LT UAB, Lithuania). It tops up with EUR and GBP and its balance is held in EUR.

Ledger CL Card (Europe) is a custodial Visa card from Baanx (CL Card), card account by UAB Monavate. It tops up with BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP and SOL and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

Plutus fits if

  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 3%).

CL Card fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: Plutus fees and details · CL Card fees and details

Plutus vs CL Card: questions

Which is cheaper, Plutus or CL Card?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Plutus leaves $209.12 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Plutus and CL Card in the same country?
One of the two issuers does not publish a country list, so we cannot confirm overlap. Country list not published for Plutus; 37 countries for CL Card.
Is Plutus or CL Card safer?
CL Card scores higher on our safety check (64/100 against 44/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Plutus or CL Card?
Plutus pays 3% and CL Card pays 1% to 2%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Plutus Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Plutus Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Plutus Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Plutus Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Ledger CL Card (Europe): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Ledger CL Card (Europe): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Ledger CL Card (Europe): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Ledger CL Card (Europe): safety · checked September 28, 2026