Xapo vs Wirex

Wirex costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Wirex leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $1,054 a year more at $500 a month, $1,144 a year more at $2,000 a month, $1,324 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Xapo is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Wirex is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, Xapo scores 69/100 (Good) and Wirex scores 85/100 (Strong).
  • Overall, Wirex rates 68/100 against 21/100 for Xapo, helped by its reach: it is offered in 73 countries and territories against an unpublished number for Xapo.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Xapo · Membership-$1,024
  • Wirex · Base≤ +$120

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureXapoWirex
Countries offeredList not published73 countries
Card networkVisaMastercard
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSD, BTC, USDC, USDTUSDC, USDT, EURC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion fee0%0%
FX markup0%0%
ATM fee2% after $100 free a monthNo card fee
Annual fee (base tier)$1,000Free (better)
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical FreeVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
CashbackNone0.5% to 8% (better)
Apple Pay / Google PayNot listedNot listed
Safety score69/10085/100 (better)
Overall rating21/10068/100 (better)
Get the cardGet XapoGet Wirex

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendXapoWirex
$500-$1,024
Membership
≤ +$30
Base
$2,000-$1,024
Membership
≤ +$120
Base
$5,000-$1,024
Membership
≤ +$300
Base

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineXapo
Membership
Wirex
Base
Top-up and conversion fees$0$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup$0$0
ATM fees-$24Not disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees-$1,000$0
Cashback$0+$120
Net per year-$1,024+$120

Fees

Xapo charges 0% to convert or top up and 0% on spending in a foreign currency. Wirex charges 0% and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: Xapo 2% after $100 free a month; Wirex no card fee.

A virtual card costs nothing with Xapo and nothing with Wirex. A physical card costs nothing and an undisclosed fee.

Cashback and rewards

Xapo cashback: None. Wirex cashback: 0.5% to 8%.

Xapo tiers: Membership: 0%.

Wirex tiers: Base: 0.5%; Premium: 1%; Elite: 3%; Private: 5%; Bespoke: 8%.

Xapo: Xapo pays cashback in Bitcoin only through limited-time offers, such as 3% on rideshares with the Metal card from 1 July to 30 September 2026. The membership also includes interest on USD savings, paid in Bitcoin.

Wirex: Cashback is paid in USD, with no monthly cap and no subscription. Your tier depends on two things together, portfolio value and the share of it held in the $WPAY token. It is recalculated daily, and a downgrade waits 24 hours. Users moved from X-tras plans keep legacy rates (Base 1%, Premium 3%, Elite 8%) for about 3 months.

Availability and KYC

Xapo does not publish a country list. Xapo Bank does not publish a list of countries where membership is open.

Wirex is offered in 73 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, Australia and Malaysia. In 2026 Wirex moved its consumer app to Wirex One, a self-custodial wallet (keys held through Privy) with fiat accounts and the card as regulated add-ons. The old Wirex app becomes read-only once an account moves over. The card issuer depends on region (see issuer), but fees and rewards are the same everywhere. You can receive crypto without verification; the card needs KYC.

Xapo needs full KYC and Wirex needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Xapo does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Wirex publishes a daily spending limit of €30,000, a monthly limit of €30,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €750 a day.

Xapo does not list Apple Pay or Google Pay support, and Wirex does not list either. Xapo issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Xapo scores 69/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Credit institution regulated by the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission (Permission No. 23171); crypto services by Xapo VASP Limited, a GFSC-regulated DLT Provider (Permission No. 26061)). No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Xapo says Bitcoin is held 1:1 and legally segregated under Gibraltar's DLT framework, never lent or rehypothecated. USD deposits are covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme; crypto balances are not.

Wirex scores 85/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Transact Payments Malta Limited. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Card spending draws on assets in the user's self-custodial wallet. Fiat IBAN balances are a regulated service run through third-party providers. We found no official enforcement action or hack for 2024 to 2026. The H1 2026 Transparency Report covers financial-crime metrics, not reserves.

Full reports: Xapo safety check and Wirex safety check.

About each card

Xapo Bank Card is a custodial Visa card from Xapo Bank Limited (Gibraltar). It tops up with USD, BTC, USDC and USDT.

Wirex One Card is a self-custody Mastercard from UAB Wirex (Lithuania), part of the Wirex Group. It tops up with USDC, USDT, EURC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

Xapo fits if

  • Its fees and availability match your situation better on the table above.

Wirex fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 8%).
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: Xapo fees and details · Wirex fees and details

Xapo vs Wirex: questions

Which is cheaper, Xapo or Wirex?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Wirex leaves $1,144 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Xapo and Wirex in the same country?
One of the two issuers does not publish a country list, so we cannot confirm overlap. Country list not published for Xapo; 73 countries for Wirex.
Is Xapo or Wirex safer?
Wirex scores higher on our safety check (85/100 against 69/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Xapo or Wirex?
Xapo pays none and Wirex pays 0.5% to 8%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Xapo Bank Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Xapo Bank Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Xapo Bank Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Xapo Bank Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Wirex One Card: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Wirex One Card: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Wirex One Card: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Wirex One Card: safety · checked September 28, 2026