OKX Card vs Xapo

OKX Card costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • OKX Card leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $1,136 a year more at $500 a month, $1,478 a year more at $2,000 a month, $1,645 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • OKX Card is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Xapo is custodial.
  • On our safety check, OKX Card scores 74/100 (Good) and Xapo scores 69/100 (Good).
  • Overall, OKX Card rates 64/100 against 21/100 for Xapo, helped by its reach: it is offered in 28 countries and territories against an unpublished number for Xapo.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • OKX Card · Non-VIP≤ +$453.60
  • Xapo · Membership-$1,024

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureOKX CardXapo
Countries offered28 countriesList not published
Card networkMastercardVisa
CustodySelf-custodyCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, USDGUSD, BTC, USDC, USDT
Top-up or conversion fee0.1%0% (better)
FX markup0%0%
ATM feeNo ATM access (virtual card only)2% after $100 free a month
Annual fee (base tier)Free (better)$1,000
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Free
Cashback2% to 10% (better)None
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayNot listed
Safety score74/100 (better)69/100
Overall rating64/100 (better)21/100
Get the cardGet OKX CardGet Xapo

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendOKX CardXapo
$500≤ +$111.60
Non-VIP
-$1,024
Membership
$2,000≤ +$453.60
Non-VIP
-$1,024
Membership
$5,000≤ +$621.46
Non-VIP
-$1,024
Membership

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineOKX Card
Non-VIP
Xapo
Membership
Top-up and conversion fees-$26.40$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup$0$0
ATM feesNot disclosed-$24
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0-$1,000
Cashback+$480$0
Net per year+$453.60-$1,024

Fees

OKX Card charges 0.1% to convert or top up and 0% on spending in a foreign currency. Xapo charges 0% and 0%.

The conversion fee applies to every dollar you load, so Xapo's lower rate matters most for everyday spending in your home currency. On $1,000 of spending, the gap is $1.

ATM withdrawals: OKX Card no atm access (virtual card only); Xapo 2% after $100 free a month.

A virtual card costs nothing with OKX Card and nothing with Xapo. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and nothing.

Cashback and rewards

OKX Card cashback: 2% to 10%. Xapo cashback: None.

OKX Card tiers: Non-VIP: 2% on the first €2,500 a month, capped at €50 a month; VIP 1: 4% on the first €7,500 a month, capped at €300 a month; VIP 2: 4.5% on the first €10,000 a month, capped at €450 a month; VIP 3: 5% on the first €20,000 a month, capped at €1,000 a month; VIP 4+: 10% on the first €10,000 a month, capped at €1,000 a month.

Xapo tiers: Membership: 0%.

OKX Card: Cashback is earned only on purchases paid with USDG and is credited in USDG. The VIP level depends on your OKX balance and trading volume. Rates apply from 1 September 2026.

Xapo: Xapo pays cashback in Bitcoin only through limited-time offers, such as 3% on rideshares with the Metal card from 1 July to 30 September 2026. The membership also includes interest on USD savings, paid in Bitcoin.

Availability and KYC

OKX Card is offered in 28 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. Available across the EU and Norway, excluding Iceland and Liechtenstein. The card is virtual only for now.

Xapo does not publish a country list. Xapo Bank does not publish a list of countries where membership is open.

OKX Card needs full KYC and Xapo needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

OKX Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Xapo does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

OKX Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Xapo does not list either. OKX Card and Xapo issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

OKX Card scores 74/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (MiCA crypto-asset service provider licence from the Malta Financial Services Authority (OKX Europe Limited); OKX says the card itself is not a MiCA-licensed product). 2025-02-24: Aux Cayes FinTech Co. Ltd., an OKX operator, pleaded guilty in the US to operating an unlicensed money transmitting business and agreed to pay more than $504 million. 2025-04-03: Malta's Financial Intelligence Analysis Unit fined OKX's European entity €1.1 million for anti-money laundering failures in 2023. OKX publishes a monthly proof of reserves; the 45th report was published on 30 July 2026.

Xapo scores 69/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Credit institution regulated by the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission (Permission No. 23171); crypto services by Xapo VASP Limited, a GFSC-regulated DLT Provider (Permission No. 26061)). No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Xapo says Bitcoin is held 1:1 and legally segregated under Gibraltar's DLT framework, never lent or rehypothecated. USD deposits are covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme; crypto balances are not.

Full reports: OKX Card safety check and Xapo safety check.

About each card

OKX Card (Europe) is a self-custody Mastercard from OKX Europe Limited (Malta). It tops up with USDC and USDG and its balance is held in EUR.

Xapo Bank Card is a custodial Visa card from Xapo Bank Limited (Gibraltar). It tops up with USD, BTC, USDC and USDT.

Which card fits you

OKX Card fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 10%).
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Xapo fits if

  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.

Read more: OKX Card fees and details · Xapo fees and details

OKX Card vs Xapo: questions

Which is cheaper, OKX Card or Xapo?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, OKX Card leaves $1,478 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use OKX Card and Xapo in the same country?
One of the two issuers does not publish a country list, so we cannot confirm overlap. 28 countries for OKX Card; country list not published for Xapo.
Is OKX Card or Xapo safer?
OKX Card scores higher on our safety check (74/100 against 69/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, OKX Card or Xapo?
OKX Card pays 2% to 10% and Xapo pays none. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. OKX Card (Europe): fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. OKX Card (Europe): availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. OKX Card (Europe): cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. OKX Card (Europe): safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Xapo Bank Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. Xapo Bank Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  7. Xapo Bank Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. Xapo Bank Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026