Crypto.com Card vs Xapo

Crypto.com Card costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Crypto.com Card leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $1,000 a year more at $500 a month, $928 a year more at $2,000 a month, $784 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Crypto.com Card is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Xapo is custodial as well.
  • On our safety check, Crypto.com Card scores 59/100 (Fair) and Xapo scores 69/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Crypto.com Card rates 46/100 against 21/100 for Xapo, helped by its reach: it is offered in 30 countries and territories against an unpublished number for Xapo.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Crypto.com Card · Basic (Midnight)≤ -$96
  • Xapo · Membership-$1,024

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureCrypto.com CardXapo
Countries offered30 countriesList not published
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDT, USDC, BTC, ETHUSD, BTC, USDC, USDT
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosed0%
FX markup2%0% (better)
ATM fee2% after €200 free a month2% after $100 free a month
Annual fee (base tier)Free (better)$1,000
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical €4.99Virtual Free · Physical Free
CashbackNoneNone
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayNot listed
Safety score59/10069/100 (better)
Overall rating46/100 (better)21/100
Get the cardGet Crypto.com CardGet Xapo

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendCrypto.com CardXapo
$500≤ -$24
Basic (Midnight)
-$1,024
Membership
$2,000≤ -$96
Basic (Midnight)
-$1,024
Membership
$5,000≤ -$240
Basic (Midnight)
-$1,024
Membership

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineCrypto.com Card
Basic (Midnight)
Xapo
Membership
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosed$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$96$0
ATM fees$0-$24
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0-$1,000
Cashback$0$0
Net per year-$96-$1,024

Fees

Crypto.com Card charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 2% on spending in a foreign currency. Xapo charges 0% and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: Crypto.com Card 2% after €200 free a month; Xapo 2% after $100 free a month.

A virtual card costs nothing with Crypto.com Card and nothing with Xapo. A physical card costs €4.99 and nothing.

Cashback and rewards

Crypto.com Card cashback: None. Xapo cashback: None.

Crypto.com Card tiers: Basic (Midnight): 0%.

Xapo tiers: Membership: 0%.

Xapo: Xapo pays cashback in Bitcoin only through limited-time offers, such as 3% on rideshares with the Metal card from 1 July to 30 September 2026. The membership also includes interest on USD savings, paid in Bitcoin.

Availability and KYC

Crypto.com Card is offered in 30 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. This entry covers the card for users with a residential address in Europe (EEA). Crypto.com publishes separate fee schedules for the US, UK, Australia, Singapore, Brazil and GCC markets.

Xapo does not publish a country list. Xapo Bank does not publish a list of countries where membership is open.

Crypto.com Card needs full KYC and Xapo needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Crypto.com Card publishes a daily spending limit of €25,000, a monthly limit of €25,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €2,000 a day.

Xapo does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Crypto.com Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Xapo does not list either. Crypto.com Card and Xapo issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Crypto.com Card scores 59/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (MiCA crypto-asset service provider authorisation, Malta Financial Services Authority). No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. The e-money institution that issues the European card is not named on Crypto.com's public fee pages.

Xapo scores 69/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Credit institution regulated by the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission (Permission No. 23171); crypto services by Xapo VASP Limited, a GFSC-regulated DLT Provider (Permission No. 26061)). No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Xapo says Bitcoin is held 1:1 and legally segregated under Gibraltar's DLT framework, never lent or rehypothecated. USD deposits are covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme; crypto balances are not.

Full reports: Crypto.com Card safety check and Xapo safety check.

About each card

Crypto.com Visa Card (Europe) is a custodial Visa card from Crypto.com (Foris DAX MT Limited in the EU). It tops up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR. Card rewards on the Plus, Pro and Private Level Up plans are advertised as up to 4.5%, but Crypto.com does not publish the rate for each plan in Europe, so only the Basic plan is modelled.

Xapo Bank Card is a custodial Visa card from Xapo Bank Limited (Gibraltar). It tops up with USD, BTC, USDC and USDT.

Which card fits you

Crypto.com Card fits if

  • Its fees and availability match your situation better on the table above.

Xapo fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: Crypto.com Card fees and details · Xapo fees and details · Crypto.com Card review

Crypto.com Card vs Xapo: questions

Which is cheaper, Crypto.com Card or Xapo?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Crypto.com Card leaves $928 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Crypto.com Card and Xapo in the same country?
One of the two issuers does not publish a country list, so we cannot confirm overlap. 30 countries for Crypto.com Card; country list not published for Xapo.
Is Crypto.com Card or Xapo safer?
Xapo scores higher on our safety check (69/100 against 59/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Crypto.com Card or Xapo?
Crypto.com Card pays none and Xapo pays none. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Crypto.com Visa Card (Europe): fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Crypto.com Visa Card (Europe): availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Crypto.com Visa Card (Europe): cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Crypto.com Visa Card (Europe): safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Xapo Bank Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. Xapo Bank Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  7. Xapo Bank Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. Xapo Bank Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026