OKX Card vs Wirex

OKX Card costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • OKX Card leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $81.60 a year more at $500 a month, $333.60 a year more at $2,000 a month, $320.69 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • OKX Card is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Wirex is self-custody as well.
  • On our safety check, OKX Card scores 84/100 (Strong) and Wirex scores 85/100 (Strong).
  • Overall, Wirex rates 68/100 against 67/100 for OKX Card, helped by its reach: it is offered in 73 countries and territories against 28 for OKX Card.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 7: Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Ireland.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • OKX Card · Non-VIP≤ +$453.60
  • Wirex · Base≤ +$120

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureOKX CardWirex
Countries offered28 countries73 countries (better)
Card networkMastercardMastercard
CustodySelf-custodySelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, USDGUSDC, USDT, EURC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion fee0.1%0% (better)
FX markup0%0%
ATM feeNo ATM access (virtual card only)No card fee
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback2% to 10% (better)0.5% to 8%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayNot listed
Safety score84/10085/100 (better)
Overall rating67/10068/100 (better)
Get the cardGet OKX CardGet Wirex

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendOKX CardWirex
$500≤ +$111.60
Non-VIP
≤ +$30
Base
$2,000≤ +$453.60
Non-VIP
≤ +$120
Base
$5,000≤ +$620.69
Non-VIP
≤ +$300
Base

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineOKX Card
Non-VIP
Wirex
Base
Top-up and conversion fees-$26.40$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup$0$0
ATM feesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback+$480+$120
Net per year+$453.60+$120

Fees

OKX Card charges 0.1% to convert or top up and 0% on spending in a foreign currency. Wirex charges 0% and 0%.

The conversion fee applies to every dollar you load, so Wirex's lower rate matters most for everyday spending in your home currency. On $1,000 of spending, the gap is $1.

ATM withdrawals: OKX Card no atm access (virtual card only); Wirex no card fee.

A virtual card costs nothing with OKX Card and nothing with Wirex. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

OKX Card cashback: 2% to 10%. Wirex cashback: 0.5% to 8%.

OKX Card tiers: Non-VIP: 2% on the first €2,500 a month, capped at €50 a month; VIP 1: 4% on the first €7,500 a month, capped at €300 a month; VIP 2: 4.5% on the first €10,000 a month, capped at €450 a month; VIP 3: 5% on the first €20,000 a month, capped at €1,000 a month; VIP 4+: 10% on the first €10,000 a month, capped at €1,000 a month.

Wirex tiers: Base: 0.5%; Premium: 1%; Elite: 3%; Private: 5%; Bespoke: 8%.

OKX Card: Cashback is earned only on purchases paid with USDG and is credited in USDG. The VIP level depends on your OKX balance and trading volume. Rates apply from 1 September 2026.

Wirex: Cashback is paid in USD, with no monthly cap and no subscription. Your tier depends on two things together, portfolio value and the share of it held in the $WPAY token. It is recalculated daily, and a downgrade waits 24 hours. Users moved from X-tras plans keep legacy rates (Base 1%, Premium 3%, Elite 8%) for about 3 months.

Availability and KYC

OKX Card is offered in 28 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. Available across the EU and Norway, excluding Iceland and Liechtenstein. The card is virtual only for now.

Wirex is offered in 73 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, Australia and Malaysia. In 2026 Wirex moved its consumer app to Wirex One, a self-custodial wallet (keys held through Privy) with fiat accounts and the card as regulated add-ons. The old Wirex app becomes read-only once an account moves over. The card issuer depends on region (see issuer), but fees and rewards are the same everywhere. You can receive crypto without verification; the card needs KYC.

OKX Card needs full KYC and Wirex needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

OKX Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Wirex publishes a daily spending limit of €30,000, a monthly limit of €30,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €750 a day.

OKX Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Wirex does not list either. OKX Card issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

OKX Card scores 84/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through UAB Monavate. 2025-02-24: Aux Cayes FinTech Co. Ltd., an OKX operator, pleaded guilty in the US to operating an unlicensed money transmitting business and agreed to pay more than $504 million. 2025-04-03: Malta's Financial Intelligence Analysis Unit fined OKX's European entity €1.1 million for anti-money laundering failures in 2023. OKX publishes a monthly proof of reserves; the 45th report was published on 30 July 2026.

Wirex scores 85/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Transact Payments Malta Limited. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Card spending draws on assets in the user's self-custodial wallet. Fiat IBAN balances are a regulated service run through third-party providers. We found no official enforcement action or hack for 2024 to 2026. The H1 2026 Transparency Report covers financial-crime metrics, not reserves.

Full reports: OKX Card safety check and Wirex safety check.

About each card

OKX Card (Europe) is a self-custody Mastercard from OKX Europe Limited (Malta). It tops up with USDC and USDG and its balance is held in EUR.

Wirex One Card is a self-custody Mastercard from UAB Wirex (Lithuania), part of the Wirex Group. It tops up with USDC, USDT, EURC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

OKX Card fits if

  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 10%).

Wirex fits if

  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: OKX Card fees and details · Wirex fees and details · OKX Card review

OKX Card vs Wirex: questions

Which is cheaper, OKX Card or Wirex?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, OKX Card leaves $333.60 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use OKX Card and Wirex in the same country?
Yes, in 7 of the 25 countries we track, including Germany, France, Spain, Italy and Netherlands.
Is OKX Card or Wirex safer?
Wirex scores higher on our safety check (85/100 against 84/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, OKX Card or Wirex?
OKX Card pays 2% to 10% and Wirex pays 0.5% to 8%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. OKX Card (Europe): fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. OKX Card (Europe): availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. OKX Card (Europe): cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. OKX Card (Europe): safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Wirex One Card: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Wirex One Card: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Wirex One Card: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Wirex One Card: safety · checked September 28, 2026