Bitpanda vs Wirex

Bitpanda costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Bitpanda leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $30 a year more at $500 a month, $120 a year more at $2,000 a month, $300 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Bitpanda is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Wirex is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, Bitpanda scores 68/100 (Good) and Wirex scores 85/100 (Strong).
  • Overall, Wirex rates 68/100 against 54/100 for Bitpanda, helped by its reach: it is offered in 73 countries and territories against 21 for Bitpanda.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 7: Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Ireland.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Bitpanda · Standard≤ +$240
  • Wirex · Base≤ +$120

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureBitpandaWirex
Countries offered21 countries73 countries (better)
Card networkVisaMastercard
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsEUR, BTC, ETH, USDCUSDC, USDT, EURC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosed0%
FX markup0%0%
ATM fee2%No card fee
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Not disclosed · Physical FreeVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback1% (better)0.5% to 8%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple PayNot listed
Safety score68/10085/100 (better)
Overall rating54/10068/100 (better)
Get the cardGet BitpandaGet Wirex

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendBitpandaWirex
$500≤ +$60
Standard
≤ +$30
Base
$2,000≤ +$240
Standard
≤ +$120
Base
$5,000≤ +$600
Standard
≤ +$300
Base

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineBitpanda
Standard
Wirex
Base
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosed$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup$0$0
ATM feesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback+$240+$120
Net per year+$240+$120

Fees

Bitpanda charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 0% on spending in a foreign currency. Wirex charges 0% and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: Bitpanda 2%; Wirex no card fee.

A virtual card costs an undisclosed fee with Bitpanda and nothing with Wirex. A physical card costs nothing and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Bitpanda cashback: 1%. Wirex cashback: 0.5% to 8%.

Bitpanda tiers: Standard: 1%.

Wirex tiers: Base: 0.5%; Premium: 1%; Elite: 3%; Private: 5%; Bespoke: 8%.

Bitpanda: Cashback applies only when a crypto asset is the payment asset. Payments from EUR, stablecoins, stocks or metals earn none. ATM withdrawals cost at least €2.

Wirex: Cashback is paid in USD, with no monthly cap and no subscription. Your tier depends on two things together, portfolio value and the share of it held in the $WPAY token. It is recalculated daily, and a downgrade waits 24 hours. Users moved from X-tras plans keep legacy rates (Base 1%, Premium 3%, Elite 8%) for about 3 months.

Availability and KYC

Bitpanda is offered in 21 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. Bitpanda says you must live in a country in the euro area. Its fee table also lists Swedish, Norwegian and Danish krone versions of the card.

Wirex is offered in 73 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, Australia and Malaysia. In 2026 Wirex moved its consumer app to Wirex One, a self-custodial wallet (keys held through Privy) with fiat accounts and the card as regulated add-ons. The old Wirex app becomes read-only once an account moves over. The card issuer depends on region (see issuer), but fees and rewards are the same everywhere. You can receive crypto without verification; the card needs KYC.

Bitpanda needs full KYC and Wirex needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Bitpanda publishes ATM withdrawals of up to €500 a day.

Wirex publishes a daily spending limit of €30,000, a monthly limit of €30,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €750 a day.

Bitpanda works with Apple Pay, and Wirex does not list either. Neither card issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Bitpanda scores 68/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Transact Payments Malta Limited. 2026-08-14: Austria's FMA fined Bitpanda GmbH €70,000 for breaches of MiCA white paper and marketing rules. The case did not involve customer funds. Bitpanda's custody policy says client crypto-assets are held as trustee, operationally and legally segregated from Bitpanda's own assets.

Wirex scores 85/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Transact Payments Malta Limited. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Card spending draws on assets in the user's self-custodial wallet. Fiat IBAN balances are a regulated service run through third-party providers. We found no official enforcement action or hack for 2024 to 2026. The H1 2026 Transparency Report covers financial-crime metrics, not reserves.

Full reports: Bitpanda safety check and Wirex safety check.

About each card

Bitpanda Card is a custodial Visa card from Bitpanda (card issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited). It tops up with EUR, BTC, ETH and USDC and its balance is held in EUR.

Wirex One Card is a self-custody Mastercard from UAB Wirex (Lithuania), part of the Wirex Group. It tops up with USDC, USDT, EURC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

Bitpanda fits if

  • Its fees and availability match your situation better on the table above.

Wirex fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 8%).
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: Bitpanda fees and details · Wirex fees and details

Bitpanda vs Wirex: questions

Which is cheaper, Bitpanda or Wirex?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Bitpanda leaves $120 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Bitpanda and Wirex in the same country?
Yes, in 7 of the 25 countries we track, including Germany, France, Spain, Italy and Netherlands.
Is Bitpanda or Wirex safer?
Wirex scores higher on our safety check (85/100 against 68/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Bitpanda or Wirex?
Bitpanda pays 1% and Wirex pays 0.5% to 8%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Bitpanda Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Bitpanda Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Bitpanda Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Bitpanda Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Wirex One Card: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Wirex One Card: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Wirex One Card: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Wirex One Card: safety · checked September 28, 2026