Nexo vs Wirex

Wirex costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Wirex leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $54 a year more at $500 a month, $216 a year more at $2,000 a month, $540 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Nexo is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Wirex is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, Nexo scores 63/100 (Good) and Wirex scores 85/100 (Strong).
  • Overall, Wirex rates 68/100 against 48/100 for Nexo, helped by its reach: it is offered in 73 countries and territories against 33 for Nexo.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 9: United Kingdom, Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Ireland and others.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Nexo · Debit Mode or under $5,000≤ -$96
  • Wirex · Base≤ +$120

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureNexoWirex
Countries offered33 countries73 countries (better)
Card networkMastercardMastercard
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDT, USDC, BTC, ETHUSDC, USDT, EURC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosed0%
FX markup2%0% (better)
ATM fee2% + €1.99 after €200 free a monthNo card fee
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback0% to 2%0.5% to 8% (better)
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayNot listed
Safety score63/10085/100 (better)
Overall rating48/10068/100 (better)
Get the cardGet NexoGet Wirex

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendNexoWirex
$500≤ -$24
Debit Mode or under $5,000
≤ +$30
Base
$2,000≤ -$96
Debit Mode or under $5,000
≤ +$120
Base
$5,000≤ -$240
Debit Mode or under $5,000
≤ +$300
Base

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineNexo
Debit Mode or under $5,000
Wirex
Base
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosed$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup-$96$0
ATM fees$0Not disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback$0+$120
Net per year-$96+$120

Fees

Nexo charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 2% on spending in a foreign currency. Wirex charges 0% and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: Nexo 2% + €1.99 after €200 free a month; Wirex no card fee.

A virtual card costs nothing with Nexo and nothing with Wirex. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Nexo cashback: 0% to 2%. Wirex cashback: 0.5% to 8%.

Nexo tiers: Debit Mode or under $5,000: 0%; Base: 0.5%, capped at $50 a month; Silver: 0.7%, capped at $100 a month; Gold: 1%, capped at $150 a month; Platinum: 2%, capped at $200 a month.

Wirex tiers: Base: 0.5%; Premium: 1%; Elite: 3%; Private: 5%; Bespoke: 8%.

Nexo: Cashback applies only to Credit Mode purchases (spending borrowed against your crypto), never to Debit Mode. You need a portfolio of at least $5,000, and your Loyalty tier is set by the share of NEXO Tokens in your portfolio (Silver 1%, Gold 5%, Platinum 10%). Rates shown are for NEXO Token payouts; choosing BTC pays 0.1% to 0.5%. Monthly reward caps reset on the 1st.

Wirex: Cashback is paid in USD, with no monthly cap and no subscription. Your tier depends on two things together, portfolio value and the share of it held in the $WPAY token. It is recalculated daily, and a downgrade waits 24 hours. Users moved from X-tras plans keep legacy rates (Base 1%, Premium 3%, Elite 8%) for about 3 months.

Availability and KYC

Nexo is offered in 33 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom and Argentina. Nexo lists the EEA, Andorra, Monaco, the UK and Argentina "and other selected jurisdictions", so the list is not complete; the app's Check eligibility screen is final. Bulgaria is excluded because Nexo says its services are unavailable there. Personal accounts only. The card can be issued in EUR, GBP or USD. The DiPocket card terms cover EEA and UK residents only; the issuer for Argentina is not published.

Wirex is offered in 73 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, Australia and Malaysia. In 2026 Wirex moved its consumer app to Wirex One, a self-custodial wallet (keys held through Privy) with fiat accounts and the card as regulated add-ons. The old Wirex app becomes read-only once an account moves over. The card issuer depends on region (see issuer), but fees and rewards are the same everywhere. You can receive crypto without verification; the card needs KYC.

Nexo needs full KYC and Wirex needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Nexo publishes a daily spending limit of €70,000, a monthly limit of €300,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €2,000 a day.

Wirex publishes a daily spending limit of €30,000, a monthly limit of €30,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €750 a day.

Nexo works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Wirex does not list either. Nexo issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Nexo scores 63/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through DiPocket UAB. 2023-01-19: Nexo Capital Inc. agreed to pay a $22.5 million SEC penalty, plus $22.5 million to US state regulators, over its unregistered Earn Interest Product. 2026-01-14: California's DFPI fined Nexo Capital Inc. $500,000 for making loans to California residents without a lender licence and without checking their ability to repay. Card funds are not stored with DiPocket; Nexo settles each card transaction, and the card terms say DiPocket "does not issue electronic money to you". Nexo's real-time reserves attestation (Armanino from 2021, Moore Johannesburg from April 2023) no longer has a live page, and we found no dated reserves report for 2025 or 2026.

Wirex scores 85/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Transact Payments Malta Limited. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Card spending draws on assets in the user's self-custodial wallet. Fiat IBAN balances are a regulated service run through third-party providers. We found no official enforcement action or hack for 2024 to 2026. The H1 2026 Transparency Report covers financial-crime metrics, not reserves.

Full reports: Nexo safety check and Wirex safety check.

About each card

Nexo Card is a custodial Mastercard from Nexo Services Sp. z o.o. (Poland). It tops up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR.

Wirex One Card is a self-custody Mastercard from UAB Wirex (Lithuania), part of the Wirex Group. It tops up with USDC, USDT, EURC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

Nexo fits if

  • Its fees and availability match your situation better on the table above.

Wirex fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 8%).
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: Nexo fees and details · Wirex fees and details

Nexo vs Wirex: questions

Which is cheaper, Nexo or Wirex?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Wirex leaves $216 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Nexo and Wirex in the same country?
Yes, in 9 of the 25 countries we track, including United Kingdom, Germany, France, Spain and Italy.
Is Nexo or Wirex safer?
Wirex scores higher on our safety check (85/100 against 63/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Nexo or Wirex?
Nexo pays 0% to 2% and Wirex pays 0.5% to 8%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Nexo Card: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  2. Nexo Card: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  3. Nexo Card: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  4. Nexo Card: safety · checked September 28, 2026
  5. Wirex One Card: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Wirex One Card: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Wirex One Card: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Wirex One Card: safety · checked September 28, 2026