CL Card vs Wirex

Wirex costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Wirex leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $172.15 a year more at $500 a month, $442.15 a year more at $2,000 a month, $982.15 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • CL Card is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Wirex is self-custody.
  • On our safety check, CL Card scores 64/100 (Good) and Wirex scores 85/100 (Strong).
  • Overall, Wirex rates 68/100 against 43/100 for CL Card, helped by its reach: it is offered in 73 countries and territories against 37 for CL Card.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 10: United Kingdom, Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Ireland and others.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • CL Card · Standard-$322.15
  • Wirex · Base≤ +$120

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureCL CardWirex
Countries offered37 countries73 countries (better)
Card networkVisaMastercard
CustodyCustodialSelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsBTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP, SOLUSDC, USDT, EURC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion fee2%0% (better)
FX markup0%0%
ATM fee€2.50No card fee
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback1% to 2% (better)0.5% to 8%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayNot listed
Safety score64/10085/100 (better)
Overall rating43/10068/100 (better)
Get the cardGet CL CardGet Wirex

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendCL CardWirex
$500-$142.15
Standard
≤ +$30
Base
$2,000-$322.15
Standard
≤ +$120
Base
$5,000-$682.15
Standard
≤ +$300
Base

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineCL Card
Standard
Wirex
Base
Top-up and conversion fees-$528$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup$0$0
ATM fees-$34.15Not disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback+$240+$120
Net per year-$322.15+$120

Fees

CL Card charges 2% to convert or top up and 0% on spending in a foreign currency. Wirex charges 0% and 0%.

The conversion fee applies to every dollar you load, so Wirex's lower rate matters most for everyday spending in your home currency. On $1,000 of spending, the gap is $20.

ATM withdrawals: CL Card €2.50; Wirex no card fee.

A virtual card costs nothing with CL Card and nothing with Wirex. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

CL Card cashback: 1% to 2%. Wirex cashback: 0.5% to 8%.

CL Card tiers: Standard: 1%; BXX rewards: 2%.

Wirex tiers: Base: 0.5%; Premium: 1%; Elite: 3%; Private: 5%; Bespoke: 8%.

CL Card: Ledger's page says "1% cashback in BTC, USDC, or USDT" (BTC or USDC in the US, BTC or USDT elsewhere), claimed from the Loyalty program page. CL's own FAQ also offers 2% if you take the reward in Baanx's BXX token. Spending funded by the Cryptodraft credit line earns nothing. No spend or reward cap is published.

Wirex: Cashback is paid in USD, with no monthly cap and no subscription. Your tier depends on two things together, portfolio value and the share of it held in the $WPAY token. It is recalculated daily, and a downgrade waits 24 hours. Users moved from X-tras plans keep legacy rates (Base 1%, Premium 3%, Elite 8%) for about 3 months.

Availability and KYC

CL Card is offered in 37 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, United States and Canada. Ledger says "The CL Card is currently available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, and Brazil." This file uses the EU fee schedule. You do not need a Ledger device to get the card.

Wirex is offered in 73 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, Australia and Malaysia. In 2026 Wirex moved its consumer app to Wirex One, a self-custodial wallet (keys held through Privy) with fiat accounts and the card as regulated add-ons. The old Wirex app becomes read-only once an account moves over. The card issuer depends on region (see issuer), but fees and rewards are the same everywhere. You can receive crypto without verification; the card needs KYC.

CL Card needs full KYC and Wirex needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

CL Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Wirex publishes a daily spending limit of €30,000, a monthly limit of €30,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €750 a day.

CL Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Wirex does not list either. CL Card issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

CL Card scores 64/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through UAB Monavate. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Only money loaded to the card as e-money is safeguarded under e-money rules. Crypto deposited to the CL platform becomes Baanx's property, and Baanx's terms warn that "in the event that any of Us becomes insolvent ... You may not be able to have the full value of Your deposits restored". Baanx describes its crypto services as "not regulated financial services". We could not find a published proof-of-reserves report. We found no official enforcement actions against the card providers. Ledger's own past security incidents are not listed, because Ledger does not provide or hold funds for the card.

Wirex scores 85/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Transact Payments Malta Limited. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Card spending draws on assets in the user's self-custodial wallet. Fiat IBAN balances are a regulated service run through third-party providers. We found no official enforcement action or hack for 2024 to 2026. The H1 2026 Transparency Report covers financial-crime metrics, not reserves.

Full reports: CL Card safety check and Wirex safety check.

About each card

Ledger CL Card (Europe) is a custodial Visa card from Baanx (CL Card), card account by UAB Monavate. It tops up with BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP and SOL and its balance is held in EUR.

Wirex One Card is a self-custody Mastercard from UAB Wirex (Lithuania), part of the Wirex Group. It tops up with USDC, USDT, EURC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

CL Card fits if

  • Its fees and availability match your situation better on the table above.

Wirex fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 8%).
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: CL Card fees and details · Wirex fees and details

CL Card vs Wirex: questions

Which is cheaper, CL Card or Wirex?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Wirex leaves $442.15 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use CL Card and Wirex in the same country?
Yes, in 10 of the 25 countries we track, including United Kingdom, Germany, France, Spain and Italy.
Is CL Card or Wirex safer?
Wirex scores higher on our safety check (85/100 against 64/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, CL Card or Wirex?
CL Card pays 1% to 2% and Wirex pays 0.5% to 8%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Ledger CL Card (Europe): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  2. Ledger CL Card (Europe): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  3. Ledger CL Card (Europe): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  4. Ledger CL Card (Europe): safety · checked September 28, 2026
  5. Wirex One Card: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Wirex One Card: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Wirex One Card: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Wirex One Card: safety · checked September 28, 2026