Yearly cost at three spending levels
| Monthly spend | Xapo | Nexo |
|---|---|---|
| $500 | -$1,024 Membership | ≤ -$24 Debit Mode or under $5,000 |
| $2,000 | -$1,024 Membership | ≤ -$96 Debit Mode or under $5,000 |
| $5,000 | -$1,024 Membership | ≤ -$240 Debit Mode or under $5,000 |
Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.
Where the money goes at $2,000 a month
| Line | Xapo Membership | Nexo Debit Mode or under $5,000 |
|---|---|---|
| Top-up and conversion fees | $0 | Not disclosed |
| Spending fees | $0 | $0 |
| Foreign exchange markup | $0 | -$96 |
| ATM fees | -$24 | $0 |
| Annual, monthly and subscription fees | -$1,000 | $0 |
| Cashback | $0 | $0 |
| Net per year | -$1,024 | -$96 |
Fees
Xapo charges 0% to convert or top up and 0% on spending in a foreign currency. Nexo charges Not disclosed and 2%.
ATM withdrawals: Xapo 2% after $100 free a month; Nexo 2% + €1.99 after €200 free a month.
A virtual card costs nothing with Xapo and nothing with Nexo. A physical card costs nothing and an undisclosed fee.
Cashback and rewards
Xapo cashback: None. Nexo cashback: 0% to 2%.
Xapo tiers: Membership: 0%.
Nexo tiers: Debit Mode or under $5,000: 0%; Base: 0.5%, capped at $50 a month; Silver: 0.7%, capped at $100 a month; Gold: 1%, capped at $150 a month; Platinum: 2%, capped at $200 a month.
Xapo: Xapo pays cashback in Bitcoin only through limited-time offers, such as 3% on rideshares with the Metal card from 1 July to 30 September 2026. The membership also includes interest on USD savings, paid in Bitcoin.
Nexo: Cashback applies only to Credit Mode purchases (spending borrowed against your crypto), never to Debit Mode. You need a portfolio of at least $5,000, and your Loyalty tier is set by the share of NEXO Tokens in your portfolio (Silver 1%, Gold 5%, Platinum 10%). Rates shown are for NEXO Token payouts; choosing BTC pays 0.1% to 0.5%. Monthly reward caps reset on the 1st.
Availability and KYC
Xapo does not publish a country list. Xapo Bank does not publish a list of countries where membership is open.
Nexo is offered in 33 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom and Argentina. Nexo lists the EEA, Andorra, Monaco, the UK and Argentina "and other selected jurisdictions", so the list is not complete; the app's Check eligibility screen is final. Bulgaria is excluded because Nexo says its services are unavailable there. Personal accounts only. The card can be issued in EUR, GBP or USD. The DiPocket card terms cover EEA and UK residents only; the issuer for Argentina is not published.
Xapo needs full KYC and Nexo needs full KYC.
The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.
Limits, wallets and card types
Xapo does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.
Nexo publishes a daily spending limit of €70,000, a monthly limit of €300,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €2,000 a day.
Xapo does not list Apple Pay or Google Pay support, and Nexo works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Xapo and Nexo issue a virtual card you can use straight away.
Custody and safety
Xapo scores 69/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Credit institution regulated by the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission (Permission No. 23171); crypto services by Xapo VASP Limited, a GFSC-regulated DLT Provider (Permission No. 26061)). No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Xapo says Bitcoin is held 1:1 and legally segregated under Gibraltar's DLT framework, never lent or rehypothecated. USD deposits are covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme; crypto balances are not.
Nexo scores 63/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through DiPocket UAB. 2023-01-19: Nexo Capital Inc. agreed to pay a $22.5 million SEC penalty, plus $22.5 million to US state regulators, over its unregistered Earn Interest Product. 2026-01-14: California's DFPI fined Nexo Capital Inc. $500,000 for making loans to California residents without a lender licence and without checking their ability to repay. Card funds are not stored with DiPocket; Nexo settles each card transaction, and the card terms say DiPocket "does not issue electronic money to you". Nexo's real-time reserves attestation (Armanino from 2021, Moore Johannesburg from April 2023) no longer has a live page, and we found no dated reserves report for 2025 or 2026.
Full reports: Xapo safety check and Nexo safety check.
About each card
Xapo Bank Card is a custodial Visa card from Xapo Bank Limited (Gibraltar). It tops up with USD, BTC, USDC and USDT.
Nexo Card is a custodial Mastercard from Nexo Services Sp. z o.o. (Poland). It tops up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR.
Which card fits you
Xapo fits if
- You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
- Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
- You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.
Nexo fits if
- You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 2%).
Read more: Xapo fees and details · Nexo fees and details