ether.fi Cash vs Wirex

ether.fi Cash costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • ether.fi Cash leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $132 a year more at $500 a month, $528 a year more at $2,000 a month, $240 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • ether.fi Cash is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Wirex is self-custody as well.
  • On our safety check, ether.fi Cash scores 60/100 (Good) and Wirex scores 85/100 (Strong).
  • Overall, ether.fi Cash rates 75/100 against 68/100 for Wirex, helped by its reach: it is offered in 91 countries and territories against 73 for Wirex.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 17: United Kingdom, Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Portugal, Ireland and Australia and others.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • ether.fi Cash · Core≤ +$648
  • Wirex · Base≤ +$120

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
Featureether.fi CashWirex
Countries offered91 countries (better)73 countries
Card networkVisaMastercard
CustodySelf-custodySelf-custody
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, ETHUSDC, USDT, EURC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosed0%
FX markup1.5%0% (better)
ATM feeNot disclosedNo card fee
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback3% to 4% (better)0.5% to 8%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayNot listed
Safety score60/10085/100 (better)
Overall rating75/100 (better)68/100
Get the cardGet ether.fi CashGet Wirex

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendether.fi CashWirex
$500≤ +$162
Core
≤ +$30
Base
$2,000≤ +$648
Core
≤ +$120
Base
$5,000≤ +$540
Core
≤ +$300
Base

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

Lineether.fi Cash
Core
Wirex
Base
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosed$0
Spending feesNot disclosed$0
Foreign exchange markup-$72$0
ATM feesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback+$720+$120
Net per year+$648+$120

Fees

ether.fi Cash charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 1.5% on spending in a foreign currency. Wirex charges 0% and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: ether.fi Cash not disclosed; Wirex no card fee.

A virtual card costs nothing with ether.fi Cash and nothing with Wirex. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

ether.fi Cash cashback: 3% to 4%. Wirex cashback: 0.5% to 8%.

ether.fi Cash tiers: Core: 3% on the first $2,000 a month; Luxe: 3% on the first $10,000 a month; Pinnacle: 3% on the first $50,000 a month; VIP: 4% on the first $50,000 a month.

Wirex tiers: Base: 0.5%; Premium: 1%; Elite: 3%; Private: 5%; Bespoke: 8%.

ether.fi Cash: Membership levels also add category cashback (10% to 30% on AI, streaming and food, capped monthly), travel discounts and account balance protection against smart contract exploits of $10,000 to $500,000, which is not deposit insurance.

Wirex: Cashback is paid in USD, with no monthly cap and no subscription. Your tier depends on two things together, portfolio value and the share of it held in the $WPAY token. It is recalculated daily, and a downgrade waits 24 hours. Users moved from X-tras plans keep legacy rates (Base 1%, Premium 3%, Elite 8%) for about 3 months.

Availability and KYC

ether.fi Cash is offered in 91 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia and Mexico. ether.fi lists these jurisdictions. In the US the card is available in 31 states and Washington D.C. only. Belgium and Ireland are eligible, but physical cards are not delivered there. In some countries (including Argentina, Indonesia, Mexico, Nigeria and the Philippines) the first virtual card costs $10.

Wirex is offered in 73 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, Australia and Malaysia. In 2026 Wirex moved its consumer app to Wirex One, a self-custodial wallet (keys held through Privy) with fiat accounts and the card as regulated add-ons. The old Wirex app becomes read-only once an account moves over. The card issuer depends on region (see issuer), but fees and rewards are the same everywhere. You can receive crypto without verification; the card needs KYC.

ether.fi Cash needs full KYC and Wirex needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

ether.fi Cash publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $5,000 a day.

Wirex publishes a daily spending limit of €30,000, a monthly limit of €30,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €750 a day.

ether.fi Cash works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Wirex does not list either. Neither card issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

ether.fi Cash scores 60/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. ether.fi describes Cash as a non-custodial account. The ATM fee on Core is not published as a fixed figure.

Wirex scores 85/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Transact Payments Malta Limited. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Card spending draws on assets in the user's self-custodial wallet. Fiat IBAN balances are a regulated service run through third-party providers. We found no official enforcement action or hack for 2024 to 2026. The H1 2026 Transparency Report covers financial-crime metrics, not reserves.

Full reports: ether.fi Cash safety check and Wirex safety check.

About each card

ether.fi Cash Card is a self-custody Visa card from ether.fi. It tops up with USDC and ETH.

Wirex One Card is a self-custody Mastercard from UAB Wirex (Lithuania), part of the Wirex Group. It tops up with USDC, USDT, EURC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

ether.fi Cash fits if

  • Its fees and availability match your situation better on the table above.

Wirex fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 8%).
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: ether.fi Cash fees and details · Wirex fees and details

ether.fi Cash vs Wirex: questions

Which is cheaper, ether.fi Cash or Wirex?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, ether.fi Cash leaves $528 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use ether.fi Cash and Wirex in the same country?
Yes, in 17 of the 25 countries we track, including United Kingdom, Germany, France, Spain and Italy.
Is ether.fi Cash or Wirex safer?
Wirex scores higher on our safety check (85/100 against 60/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, ether.fi Cash or Wirex?
ether.fi Cash pays 3% to 4% and Wirex pays 0.5% to 8%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. ether.fi Cash Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. ether.fi Cash Card: availability · checked September 25, 2026
  3. ether.fi Cash Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. ether.fi Cash Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Wirex One Card: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Wirex One Card: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Wirex One Card: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Wirex One Card: safety · checked September 28, 2026