ether.fi Cash vs Xapo

ether.fi Cash costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • ether.fi Cash leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $1,186 a year more at $500 a month, $1,672 a year more at $2,000 a month, $1,564 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • ether.fi Cash is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Xapo is custodial.
  • On our safety check, ether.fi Cash scores 60/100 (Good) and Xapo scores 69/100 (Good).
  • Overall, ether.fi Cash rates 75/100 against 21/100 for Xapo, helped by its reach: it is offered in 91 countries and territories against an unpublished number for Xapo.

Yearly cost at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month). A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees.

  • ether.fi Cash · Core≥ -$648
  • Xapo · Membership$1,024

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
Featureether.fi CashXapo
Countries offered91 countriesList not published
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodySelf-custodyCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, ETHUSD, BTC, USDC, USDT
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosed0%
FX markup1.5%0% (better)
ATM feeNot disclosed2% after $100 free a month
Annual fee (base tier)Free (better)$1,000
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Free
Cashback3% to 4% (better)None
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayNot listed
Safety score60/10069/100 (better)
Overall rating75/100 (better)21/100
Get the cardGet ether.fi CashGet Xapo

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendether.fi CashXapo
$500≥ -$162
Core
$1,024
Membership
$2,000≥ -$648
Core
$1,024
Membership
$5,000≥ -$540
Core
$1,024
Membership

Yearly cost: conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees minus cashback. A minus sign means cashback outweighs fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

Lineether.fi Cash
Core
Xapo
Membership
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosed$0
Spending feesNot disclosed$0
Foreign exchange markup$72$0
ATM feesNot disclosed$24
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$1,000
Cashback-$720-$0
Yearly cost-$648$1,024

Fees

ether.fi Cash charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 1.5% on spending in a foreign currency. Xapo charges 0% and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: ether.fi Cash not disclosed; Xapo 2% after $100 free a month.

A virtual card costs nothing with ether.fi Cash and nothing with Xapo. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and nothing.

Cashback and rewards

ether.fi Cash cashback: 3% to 4%. Xapo cashback: None.

ether.fi Cash tiers: Core: 3% on the first $2,000 a month; Luxe: 3% on the first $10,000 a month; Pinnacle: 3% on the first $50,000 a month; VIP: 4% on the first $50,000 a month.

Xapo tiers: Membership: 0%.

ether.fi Cash: Membership levels also add category cashback (10% to 30% on AI, streaming and food, capped monthly), travel discounts and account balance protection against smart contract exploits of $10,000 to $500,000, which is not deposit insurance.

Xapo: Xapo pays cashback in Bitcoin only through limited-time offers, such as 3% on rideshares with the Metal card from 1 July to 30 September 2026. The membership also includes interest on USD savings, paid in Bitcoin.

Availability and KYC

ether.fi Cash is offered in 91 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia and Mexico. ether.fi lists these jurisdictions. In the US the card is available in 31 states and Washington D.C. only. Belgium and Ireland are eligible, but physical cards are not delivered there. In some countries (including Argentina, Indonesia, Mexico, Nigeria and the Philippines) the first virtual card costs $10.

Xapo does not publish a country list. Xapo Bank does not publish a list of countries where membership is open.

ether.fi Cash needs full KYC and Xapo needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

ether.fi Cash publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $5,000 a day.

Xapo does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

ether.fi Cash works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Xapo does not list either. Xapo issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

ether.fi Cash scores 60/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. ether.fi describes Cash as a non-custodial account. The ATM fee on Core is not published as a fixed figure.

Xapo scores 69/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Credit institution regulated by the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission (Permission No. 23171); crypto services by Xapo VASP Limited, a GFSC-regulated DLT Provider (Permission No. 26061)). No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Xapo says Bitcoin is held 1:1 and legally segregated under Gibraltar's DLT framework, never lent or rehypothecated. USD deposits are covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme; crypto balances are not.

Full reports: ether.fi Cash safety check and Xapo safety check.

About each card

ether.fi Cash Card is a self-custody Visa card from ether.fi. It tops up with USDC and ETH.

Xapo Bank Card is a custodial Visa card from Xapo Bank Limited (Gibraltar). It tops up with USD, BTC, USDC and USDT.

Which card fits you

ether.fi Cash fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 4%).

Xapo fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: ether.fi Cash fees and details · Xapo fees and details

ether.fi Cash vs Xapo: questions

Which is cheaper, ether.fi Cash or Xapo?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, ether.fi Cash leaves $1,672 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use ether.fi Cash and Xapo in the same country?
One of the two issuers does not publish a country list, so we cannot confirm overlap. 91 countries for ether.fi Cash; country list not published for Xapo.
Is ether.fi Cash or Xapo safer?
Xapo scores higher on our safety check (69/100 against 60/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, ether.fi Cash or Xapo?
ether.fi Cash pays 3% to 4% and Xapo pays none. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. ether.fi Cash Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. ether.fi Cash Card: availability · checked September 25, 2026
  3. ether.fi Cash Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. ether.fi Cash Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Xapo Bank Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. Xapo Bank Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  7. Xapo Bank Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. Xapo Bank Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026