Bitpanda vs Xapo

Bitpanda costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Bitpanda leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $1,084 a year more at $500 a month, $1,264 a year more at $2,000 a month, $1,624 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Bitpanda is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Xapo is custodial as well.
  • On our safety check, Bitpanda scores 68/100 (Good) and Xapo scores 69/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Bitpanda rates 54/100 against 21/100 for Xapo, helped by its reach: it is offered in 21 countries and territories against an unpublished number for Xapo.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Bitpanda · Standard≤ +$240
  • Xapo · Membership-$1,024

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureBitpandaXapo
Countries offered21 countriesList not published
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsEUR, BTC, ETH, USDCUSD, BTC, USDC, USDT
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosed0%
FX markup0%0%
ATM fee2%2% after $100 free a month
Annual fee (base tier)Free (better)$1,000
Card issuanceVirtual Not disclosed · Physical FreeVirtual Free · Physical Free
Cashback1% (better)None
Apple Pay / Google PayApple PayNot listed
Safety score68/10069/100 (better)
Overall rating54/100 (better)21/100
Get the cardGet BitpandaGet Xapo

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendBitpandaXapo
$500≤ +$60
Standard
-$1,024
Membership
$2,000≤ +$240
Standard
-$1,024
Membership
$5,000≤ +$600
Standard
-$1,024
Membership

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineBitpanda
Standard
Xapo
Membership
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosed$0
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup$0$0
ATM feesNot disclosed-$24
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0-$1,000
Cashback+$240$0
Net per year+$240-$1,024

Fees

Bitpanda charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 0% on spending in a foreign currency. Xapo charges 0% and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: Bitpanda 2%; Xapo 2% after $100 free a month.

A virtual card costs an undisclosed fee with Bitpanda and nothing with Xapo. A physical card costs nothing and nothing.

Cashback and rewards

Bitpanda cashback: 1%. Xapo cashback: None.

Bitpanda tiers: Standard: 1%.

Xapo tiers: Membership: 0%.

Bitpanda: Cashback applies only when a crypto asset is the payment asset. Payments from EUR, stablecoins, stocks or metals earn none. ATM withdrawals cost at least €2.

Xapo: Xapo pays cashback in Bitcoin only through limited-time offers, such as 3% on rideshares with the Metal card from 1 July to 30 September 2026. The membership also includes interest on USD savings, paid in Bitcoin.

Availability and KYC

Bitpanda is offered in 21 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. Bitpanda says you must live in a country in the euro area. Its fee table also lists Swedish, Norwegian and Danish krone versions of the card.

Xapo does not publish a country list. Xapo Bank does not publish a list of countries where membership is open.

Bitpanda needs full KYC and Xapo needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Bitpanda publishes ATM withdrawals of up to €500 a day.

Xapo does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Bitpanda works with Apple Pay, and Xapo does not list either. Xapo issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Bitpanda scores 68/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Transact Payments Malta Limited. 2026-08-14: Austria's FMA fined Bitpanda GmbH €70,000 for breaches of MiCA white paper and marketing rules. The case did not involve customer funds. Bitpanda's custody policy says client crypto-assets are held as trustee, operationally and legally segregated from Bitpanda's own assets.

Xapo scores 69/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (Credit institution regulated by the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission (Permission No. 23171); crypto services by Xapo VASP Limited, a GFSC-regulated DLT Provider (Permission No. 26061)). No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Xapo says Bitcoin is held 1:1 and legally segregated under Gibraltar's DLT framework, never lent or rehypothecated. USD deposits are covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme; crypto balances are not.

Full reports: Bitpanda safety check and Xapo safety check.

About each card

Bitpanda Card is a custodial Visa card from Bitpanda (card issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited). It tops up with EUR, BTC, ETH and USDC and its balance is held in EUR.

Xapo Bank Card is a custodial Visa card from Xapo Bank Limited (Gibraltar). It tops up with USD, BTC, USDC and USDT.

Which card fits you

Bitpanda fits if

  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 1%).

Xapo fits if

  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: Bitpanda fees and details · Xapo fees and details

Bitpanda vs Xapo: questions

Which is cheaper, Bitpanda or Xapo?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Bitpanda leaves $1,264 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Bitpanda and Xapo in the same country?
One of the two issuers does not publish a country list, so we cannot confirm overlap. 21 countries for Bitpanda; country list not published for Xapo.
Is Bitpanda or Xapo safer?
Xapo scores higher on our safety check (69/100 against 68/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Bitpanda or Xapo?
Bitpanda pays 1% and Xapo pays none. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Bitpanda Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Bitpanda Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Bitpanda Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Bitpanda Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Xapo Bank Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  6. Xapo Bank Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  7. Xapo Bank Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  8. Xapo Bank Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026