Yearly cost at three spending levels
| Monthly spend | Crypto.com Card | CL Card |
|---|---|---|
| $500 | ≤ -$24 Basic (Midnight) | -$142.15 Standard |
| $2,000 | ≤ -$96 Basic (Midnight) | -$322.15 Standard |
| $5,000 | ≤ -$240 Basic (Midnight) | -$682.15 Standard |
Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.
Where the money goes at $2,000 a month
| Line | Crypto.com Card Basic (Midnight) | CL Card Standard |
|---|---|---|
| Top-up and conversion fees | Not disclosed | -$528 |
| Spending fees | $0 | $0 |
| Foreign exchange markup | -$96 | $0 |
| ATM fees | $0 | -$34.15 |
| Annual, monthly and subscription fees | $0 | $0 |
| Cashback | $0 | +$240 |
| Net per year | -$96 | -$322.15 |
Fees
Crypto.com Card charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 2% on spending in a foreign currency. CL Card charges 2% and 0%.
ATM withdrawals: Crypto.com Card 2% after €200 free a month; CL Card €2.50.
A virtual card costs nothing with Crypto.com Card and nothing with CL Card. A physical card costs €4.99 and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.
Cashback and rewards
Crypto.com Card cashback: 0% to 5%. CL Card cashback: 1% to 2%.
Crypto.com Card tiers: Basic (Midnight): 0%; Plus (Ruby): 2%, capped at $25 a month; Pro (Jade/Indigo): 3%, capped at $75 a month; Private (Icy/Rose): 4%; Private (Obsidian): 5%.
CL Card tiers: Standard: 1%; BXX rewards: 2%.
Crypto.com Card: Rewards are paid in CRO under Crypto.com's Level Up plans. Plus and Pro can be paid by subscription (€3.99 or €24.99 a month) or a 12-month CRO stake (€450 or €4,500); Private needs €45,000 or €450,000 of CRO staked for 12 months. Plus rewards are capped at $25 a month and Pro at $75.
CL Card: Ledger's page says "1% cashback in BTC, USDC, or USDT" (BTC or USDC in the US, BTC or USDT elsewhere), claimed from the Loyalty program page. CL's own FAQ also offers 2% if you take the reward in Baanx's BXX token. Spending funded by the Cryptodraft credit line earns nothing. No spend or reward cap is published.
Availability and KYC
Crypto.com Card is offered in 30 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. This entry covers the card for users with a residential address in Europe (EEA). Crypto.com publishes separate fee schedules for the US, UK, Australia, Singapore, Brazil and GCC markets.
CL Card is offered in 37 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, United States and Canada. Ledger says "The CL Card is currently available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, and Brazil." This file uses the EU fee schedule. You do not need a Ledger device to get the card.
Crypto.com Card needs full KYC and CL Card needs full KYC.
The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.
Limits, wallets and card types
Crypto.com Card publishes a daily spending limit of €25,000, a monthly limit of €25,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €2,000 a day.
CL Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.
Crypto.com Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and CL Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Crypto.com Card and CL Card issue a virtual card you can use straight away.
Custody and safety
Crypto.com Card scores 59/100. Licensing: holds a licence or registration outside the tier-one list (MiCA crypto-asset service provider authorisation, Malta Financial Services Authority). No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. The e-money institution that issues the European card is not named on Crypto.com's public fee pages.
CL Card scores 64/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through UAB Monavate. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Only money loaded to the card as e-money is safeguarded under e-money rules. Crypto deposited to the CL platform becomes Baanx's property, and Baanx's terms warn that "in the event that any of Us becomes insolvent ... You may not be able to have the full value of Your deposits restored". Baanx describes its crypto services as "not regulated financial services". We could not find a published proof-of-reserves report. We found no official enforcement actions against the card providers. Ledger's own past security incidents are not listed, because Ledger does not provide or hold funds for the card.
Full reports: Crypto.com Card safety check and CL Card safety check.
About each card
Crypto.com Visa Card (Europe) is a custodial Visa card from Crypto.com (Foris DAX MT Limited in the EU). It tops up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR. Card rewards on the Plus, Pro and Private Level Up plans are advertised as up to 4.5%, but Crypto.com does not publish the rate for each plan in Europe, so only the Basic plan is modelled.
Ledger CL Card (Europe) is a custodial Visa card from Baanx (CL Card), card account by UAB Monavate. It tops up with BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP and SOL and its balance is held in EUR.
Which card fits you
Crypto.com Card fits if
- You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 5%).
CL Card fits if
- You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
- Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
- You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.
Read more: Crypto.com Card fees and details · CL Card fees and details · Crypto.com Card review