CL Card vs Nexo

Nexo costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Nexo leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $118.15 a year more at $500 a month, $226.15 a year more at $2,000 a month, $442.15 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • CL Card is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Nexo is custodial as well.
  • On our safety check, CL Card scores 64/100 (Good) and Nexo scores 63/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Nexo rates 48/100 against 43/100 for CL Card.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 8: United Kingdom, Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Ireland.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • CL Card · Standard-$322.15
  • Nexo · Debit Mode or under $5,000≤ -$96

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureCL CardNexo
Countries offered37 countries (better)33 countries
Card networkVisaMastercard
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsBTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP, SOLUSDT, USDC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion fee2%Not disclosed
FX markup0% (better)2%
ATM fee€2.502% + €1.99 after €200 free a month
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback1% to 2% (better)0% to 2%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score64/100 (better)63/100
Overall rating43/10048/100 (better)
Get the cardGet CL CardGet Nexo

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendCL CardNexo
$500-$142.15
Standard
≤ -$24
Debit Mode or under $5,000
$2,000-$322.15
Standard
≤ -$96
Debit Mode or under $5,000
$5,000-$682.15
Standard
≤ -$240
Debit Mode or under $5,000

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineCL Card
Standard
Nexo
Debit Mode or under $5,000
Top-up and conversion fees-$528Not disclosed
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup$0-$96
ATM fees-$34.15$0
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback+$240$0
Net per year-$322.15-$96

Fees

CL Card charges 2% to convert or top up and 0% on spending in a foreign currency. Nexo charges Not disclosed and 2%.

ATM withdrawals: CL Card €2.50; Nexo 2% + €1.99 after €200 free a month.

A virtual card costs nothing with CL Card and nothing with Nexo. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

CL Card cashback: 1% to 2%. Nexo cashback: 0% to 2%.

CL Card tiers: Standard: 1%; BXX rewards: 2%.

Nexo tiers: Debit Mode or under $5,000: 0%; Base: 0.5%, capped at $50 a month; Silver: 0.7%, capped at $100 a month; Gold: 1%, capped at $150 a month; Platinum: 2%, capped at $200 a month.

CL Card: Ledger's page says "1% cashback in BTC, USDC, or USDT" (BTC or USDC in the US, BTC or USDT elsewhere), claimed from the Loyalty program page. CL's own FAQ also offers 2% if you take the reward in Baanx's BXX token. Spending funded by the Cryptodraft credit line earns nothing. No spend or reward cap is published.

Nexo: Cashback applies only to Credit Mode purchases (spending borrowed against your crypto), never to Debit Mode. You need a portfolio of at least $5,000, and your Loyalty tier is set by the share of NEXO Tokens in your portfolio (Silver 1%, Gold 5%, Platinum 10%). Rates shown are for NEXO Token payouts; choosing BTC pays 0.1% to 0.5%. Monthly reward caps reset on the 1st.

Availability and KYC

CL Card is offered in 37 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, United States and Canada. Ledger says "The CL Card is currently available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, and Brazil." This file uses the EU fee schedule. You do not need a Ledger device to get the card.

Nexo is offered in 33 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom and Argentina. Nexo lists the EEA, Andorra, Monaco, the UK and Argentina "and other selected jurisdictions", so the list is not complete; the app's Check eligibility screen is final. Bulgaria is excluded because Nexo says its services are unavailable there. Personal accounts only. The card can be issued in EUR, GBP or USD. The DiPocket card terms cover EEA and UK residents only; the issuer for Argentina is not published.

CL Card needs full KYC and Nexo needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

CL Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Nexo publishes a daily spending limit of €70,000, a monthly limit of €300,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €2,000 a day.

CL Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Nexo works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. CL Card and Nexo issue a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

CL Card scores 64/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through UAB Monavate. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Only money loaded to the card as e-money is safeguarded under e-money rules. Crypto deposited to the CL platform becomes Baanx's property, and Baanx's terms warn that "in the event that any of Us becomes insolvent ... You may not be able to have the full value of Your deposits restored". Baanx describes its crypto services as "not regulated financial services". We could not find a published proof-of-reserves report. We found no official enforcement actions against the card providers. Ledger's own past security incidents are not listed, because Ledger does not provide or hold funds for the card.

Nexo scores 63/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through DiPocket UAB. 2023-01-19: Nexo Capital Inc. agreed to pay a $22.5 million SEC penalty, plus $22.5 million to US state regulators, over its unregistered Earn Interest Product. 2026-01-14: California's DFPI fined Nexo Capital Inc. $500,000 for making loans to California residents without a lender licence and without checking their ability to repay. Card funds are not stored with DiPocket; Nexo settles each card transaction, and the card terms say DiPocket "does not issue electronic money to you". Nexo's real-time reserves attestation (Armanino from 2021, Moore Johannesburg from April 2023) no longer has a live page, and we found no dated reserves report for 2025 or 2026.

Full reports: CL Card safety check and Nexo safety check.

About each card

Ledger CL Card (Europe) is a custodial Visa card from Baanx (CL Card), card account by UAB Monavate. It tops up with BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP and SOL and its balance is held in EUR.

Nexo Card is a custodial Mastercard from Nexo Services Sp. z o.o. (Poland). It tops up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

CL Card fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Nexo fits if

  • Its fees and availability match your situation better on the table above.

Read more: CL Card fees and details · Nexo fees and details

CL Card vs Nexo: questions

Which is cheaper, CL Card or Nexo?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Nexo leaves $226.15 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use CL Card and Nexo in the same country?
Yes, in 8 of the 25 countries we track, including United Kingdom, Germany, France, Spain and Italy.
Is CL Card or Nexo safer?
CL Card scores higher on our safety check (64/100 against 63/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, CL Card or Nexo?
CL Card pays 1% to 2% and Nexo pays 0% to 2%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Ledger CL Card (Europe): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  2. Ledger CL Card (Europe): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  3. Ledger CL Card (Europe): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  4. Ledger CL Card (Europe): safety · checked September 28, 2026
  5. Nexo Card: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Nexo Card: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Nexo Card: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Nexo Card: safety · checked September 28, 2026