Bitpanda vs CL Card

Bitpanda costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Bitpanda leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $202.15 a year more at $500 a month, $562.15 a year more at $2,000 a month, $1,282 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Bitpanda is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. CL Card is custodial as well.
  • On our safety check, Bitpanda scores 68/100 (Good) and CL Card scores 64/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Bitpanda rates 54/100 against 43/100 for CL Card.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 7: Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Ireland.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Bitpanda · Standard≤ +$240
  • CL Card · Standard-$322.15

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureBitpandaCL Card
Countries offered21 countries37 countries (better)
Card networkVisaVisa
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsEUR, BTC, ETH, USDCBTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP, SOL
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosed2%
FX markup0%0%
ATM fee2%€2.50
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Not disclosed · Physical FreeVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback1%1% to 2%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score68/100 (better)64/100
Overall rating54/100 (better)43/100
Get the cardGet BitpandaGet CL Card

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendBitpandaCL Card
$500≤ +$60
Standard
-$142.15
Standard
$2,000≤ +$240
Standard
-$322.15
Standard
$5,000≤ +$600
Standard
-$682.15
Standard

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineBitpanda
Standard
CL Card
Standard
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosed-$528
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup$0$0
ATM feesNot disclosed-$34.15
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback+$240+$240
Net per year+$240-$322.15

Fees

Bitpanda charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 0% on spending in a foreign currency. CL Card charges 2% and 0%.

ATM withdrawals: Bitpanda 2%; CL Card €2.50.

A virtual card costs an undisclosed fee with Bitpanda and nothing with CL Card. A physical card costs nothing and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Bitpanda cashback: 1%. CL Card cashback: 1% to 2%.

Bitpanda tiers: Standard: 1%.

CL Card tiers: Standard: 1%; BXX rewards: 2%.

Bitpanda: Cashback applies only when a crypto asset is the payment asset. Payments from EUR, stablecoins, stocks or metals earn none. ATM withdrawals cost at least €2.

CL Card: Ledger's page says "1% cashback in BTC, USDC, or USDT" (BTC or USDC in the US, BTC or USDT elsewhere), claimed from the Loyalty program page. CL's own FAQ also offers 2% if you take the reward in Baanx's BXX token. Spending funded by the Cryptodraft credit line earns nothing. No spend or reward cap is published.

Availability and KYC

Bitpanda is offered in 21 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. Bitpanda says you must live in a country in the euro area. Its fee table also lists Swedish, Norwegian and Danish krone versions of the card.

CL Card is offered in 37 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, United States and Canada. Ledger says "The CL Card is currently available in the EEA, the UK, the US, Canada, Switzerland, Colombia, Mexico, and Brazil." This file uses the EU fee schedule. You do not need a Ledger device to get the card.

Bitpanda needs full KYC and CL Card needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Bitpanda publishes ATM withdrawals of up to €500 a day.

CL Card does not publish fixed spending or ATM limits.

Bitpanda works with Apple Pay, and CL Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. CL Card issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Bitpanda scores 68/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Transact Payments Malta Limited. 2026-08-14: Austria's FMA fined Bitpanda GmbH €70,000 for breaches of MiCA white paper and marketing rules. The case did not involve customer funds. Bitpanda's custody policy says client crypto-assets are held as trustee, operationally and legally segregated from Bitpanda's own assets.

CL Card scores 64/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through UAB Monavate. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. Only money loaded to the card as e-money is safeguarded under e-money rules. Crypto deposited to the CL platform becomes Baanx's property, and Baanx's terms warn that "in the event that any of Us becomes insolvent ... You may not be able to have the full value of Your deposits restored". Baanx describes its crypto services as "not regulated financial services". We could not find a published proof-of-reserves report. We found no official enforcement actions against the card providers. Ledger's own past security incidents are not listed, because Ledger does not provide or hold funds for the card.

Full reports: Bitpanda safety check and CL Card safety check.

About each card

Bitpanda Card is a custodial Visa card from Bitpanda (card issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited). It tops up with EUR, BTC, ETH and USDC and its balance is held in EUR.

Ledger CL Card (Europe) is a custodial Visa card from Baanx (CL Card), card account by UAB Monavate. It tops up with BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XRP and SOL and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

Bitpanda fits if

  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

CL Card fits if

  • Most of your spending is in your home currency, where its lower conversion fee counts most.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 2%).

Read more: Bitpanda fees and details · CL Card fees and details

Bitpanda vs CL Card: questions

Which is cheaper, Bitpanda or CL Card?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Bitpanda leaves $562.15 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Bitpanda and CL Card in the same country?
Yes, in 7 of the 25 countries we track, including Germany, France, Spain, Italy and Netherlands.
Is Bitpanda or CL Card safer?
Bitpanda scores higher on our safety check (68/100 against 64/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Bitpanda or CL Card?
Bitpanda pays 1% and CL Card pays 1% to 2%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Bitpanda Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Bitpanda Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Bitpanda Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Bitpanda Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Ledger CL Card (Europe): fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Ledger CL Card (Europe): availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Ledger CL Card (Europe): cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Ledger CL Card (Europe): safety · checked September 28, 2026