Bitpanda vs Nexo

Bitpanda costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • Bitpanda leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $84 a year more at $500 a month, $336 a year more at $2,000 a month, $840 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • Bitpanda is a custodial card, so the provider holds your balance. Nexo is custodial as well.
  • On our safety check, Bitpanda scores 68/100 (Good) and Nexo scores 63/100 (Good).
  • Overall, Bitpanda rates 54/100 against 48/100 for Nexo.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 7: Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Ireland.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • Bitpanda · Standard≤ +$240
  • Nexo · Debit Mode or under $5,000≤ -$96

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
FeatureBitpandaNexo
Countries offered21 countries33 countries (better)
Card networkVisaMastercard
CustodyCustodialCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsEUR, BTC, ETH, USDCUSDT, USDC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosedNot disclosed
FX markup0% (better)2%
ATM fee2%2% + €1.99 after €200 free a month
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Not disclosed · Physical FreeVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback1% (better)0% to 2%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score68/100 (better)63/100
Overall rating54/100 (better)48/100
Get the cardGet BitpandaGet Nexo

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendBitpandaNexo
$500≤ +$60
Standard
≤ -$24
Debit Mode or under $5,000
$2,000≤ +$240
Standard
≤ -$96
Debit Mode or under $5,000
$5,000≤ +$600
Standard
≤ -$240
Debit Mode or under $5,000

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

LineBitpanda
Standard
Nexo
Debit Mode or under $5,000
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Spending fees$0$0
Foreign exchange markup$0-$96
ATM feesNot disclosed$0
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback+$240$0
Net per year+$240-$96

Fees

Bitpanda charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 0% on spending in a foreign currency. Nexo charges Not disclosed and 2%.

ATM withdrawals: Bitpanda 2%; Nexo 2% + €1.99 after €200 free a month.

A virtual card costs an undisclosed fee with Bitpanda and nothing with Nexo. A physical card costs nothing and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

Bitpanda cashback: 1%. Nexo cashback: 0% to 2%.

Bitpanda tiers: Standard: 1%.

Nexo tiers: Debit Mode or under $5,000: 0%; Base: 0.5%, capped at $50 a month; Silver: 0.7%, capped at $100 a month; Gold: 1%, capped at $150 a month; Platinum: 2%, capped at $200 a month.

Bitpanda: Cashback applies only when a crypto asset is the payment asset. Payments from EUR, stablecoins, stocks or metals earn none. ATM withdrawals cost at least €2.

Nexo: Cashback applies only to Credit Mode purchases (spending borrowed against your crypto), never to Debit Mode. You need a portfolio of at least $5,000, and your Loyalty tier is set by the share of NEXO Tokens in your portfolio (Silver 1%, Gold 5%, Platinum 10%). Rates shown are for NEXO Token payouts; choosing BTC pays 0.1% to 0.5%. Monthly reward caps reset on the 1st.

Availability and KYC

Bitpanda is offered in 21 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. Bitpanda says you must live in a country in the euro area. Its fee table also lists Swedish, Norwegian and Danish krone versions of the card.

Nexo is offered in 33 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom and Argentina. Nexo lists the EEA, Andorra, Monaco, the UK and Argentina "and other selected jurisdictions", so the list is not complete; the app's Check eligibility screen is final. Bulgaria is excluded because Nexo says its services are unavailable there. Personal accounts only. The card can be issued in EUR, GBP or USD. The DiPocket card terms cover EEA and UK residents only; the issuer for Argentina is not published.

Bitpanda needs full KYC and Nexo needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

Bitpanda publishes ATM withdrawals of up to €500 a day.

Nexo publishes a daily spending limit of €70,000, a monthly limit of €300,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €2,000 a day.

Bitpanda works with Apple Pay, and Nexo works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Nexo issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

Bitpanda scores 68/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through Transact Payments Malta Limited. 2026-08-14: Austria's FMA fined Bitpanda GmbH €70,000 for breaches of MiCA white paper and marketing rules. The case did not involve customer funds. Bitpanda's custody policy says client crypto-assets are held as trustee, operationally and legally segregated from Bitpanda's own assets.

Nexo scores 63/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through DiPocket UAB. 2023-01-19: Nexo Capital Inc. agreed to pay a $22.5 million SEC penalty, plus $22.5 million to US state regulators, over its unregistered Earn Interest Product. 2026-01-14: California's DFPI fined Nexo Capital Inc. $500,000 for making loans to California residents without a lender licence and without checking their ability to repay. Card funds are not stored with DiPocket; Nexo settles each card transaction, and the card terms say DiPocket "does not issue electronic money to you". Nexo's real-time reserves attestation (Armanino from 2021, Moore Johannesburg from April 2023) no longer has a live page, and we found no dated reserves report for 2025 or 2026.

Full reports: Bitpanda safety check and Nexo safety check.

About each card

Bitpanda Card is a custodial Visa card from Bitpanda (card issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited). It tops up with EUR, BTC, ETH and USDC and its balance is held in EUR.

Nexo Card is a custodial Mastercard from Nexo Services Sp. z o.o. (Poland). It tops up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

Bitpanda fits if

  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Nexo fits if

  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 2%).

Read more: Bitpanda fees and details · Nexo fees and details

Bitpanda vs Nexo: questions

Which is cheaper, Bitpanda or Nexo?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, Bitpanda leaves $336 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use Bitpanda and Nexo in the same country?
Yes, in 7 of the 25 countries we track, including Germany, France, Spain, Italy and Netherlands.
Is Bitpanda or Nexo safer?
Bitpanda scores higher on our safety check (68/100 against 63/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, Bitpanda or Nexo?
Bitpanda pays 1% and Nexo pays 0% to 2%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. Bitpanda Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. Bitpanda Card: availability · checked September 24, 2026
  3. Bitpanda Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. Bitpanda Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Nexo Card: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Nexo Card: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Nexo Card: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Nexo Card: safety · checked September 28, 2026