ether.fi Cash vs Nexo

ether.fi Cash costs less across the spending levels we test. The full fee, reward, availability and safety comparison is below.

Verdict

  • ether.fi Cash leaves more money in your pocket at all three spending levels we test: $186 a year more at $500 a month, $744 a year more at $2,000 a month, $780 a year more at $5,000 a month.
  • ether.fi Cash is a self-custody card that spends from your own wallet. Nexo is custodial.
  • On our safety check, ether.fi Cash scores 60/100 (Good) and Nexo scores 63/100 (Good).
  • Overall, ether.fi Cash rates 75/100 against 48/100 for Nexo, helped by its reach: it is offered in 91 countries and territories against 33 for Nexo.
  • Among the 25 countries we track, both cards are offered in 8: United Kingdom, Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Portugal, Ireland and Argentina.

Net value per year at $2,000 a month (20% foreign spend, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month)

  • ether.fi Cash · Core≤ +$648
  • Nexo · Debit Mode or under $5,000≤ -$96

≤ one fee is not published and counts as zero.

Crypto card comparison
Featureether.fi CashNexo
Countries offered91 countries (better)33 countries
Card networkVisaMastercard
CustodySelf-custodyCustodial
KYCFullFull
Top-up assetsUSDC, ETHUSDT, USDC, BTC, ETH
Top-up or conversion feeNot disclosedNot disclosed
FX markup1.5% (better)2%
ATM feeNot disclosed2% + €1.99 after €200 free a month
Annual fee (base tier)FreeFree
Card issuanceVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosedVirtual Free · Physical Not disclosed
Cashback3% to 4% (better)0% to 2%
Apple Pay / Google PayApple Pay, Google PayApple Pay, Google Pay
Safety score60/10063/100 (better)
Overall rating75/100 (better)48/100
Get the cardGet ether.fi CashGet Nexo

Yearly cost at three spending levels

Monthly spendether.fi CashNexo
$500≤ +$162
Core
≤ -$24
Debit Mode or under $5,000
$2,000≤ +$648
Core
≤ -$96
Debit Mode or under $5,000
$5,000≤ +$540
Core
≤ -$240
Debit Mode or under $5,000

Net value per year: cashback minus conversion, FX, ATM and fixed fees. US dollars, 20% foreign spending, one $200 ATM withdrawal a month. The card cost calculator runs the same comparison with your own habits.

Where the money goes at $2,000 a month

Lineether.fi Cash
Core
Nexo
Debit Mode or under $5,000
Top-up and conversion feesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Spending feesNot disclosed$0
Foreign exchange markup-$72-$96
ATM feesNot disclosed$0
Annual, monthly and subscription fees$0$0
Cashback+$720$0
Net per year+$648-$96

Fees

ether.fi Cash charges Not disclosed to convert or top up and 1.5% on spending in a foreign currency. Nexo charges Not disclosed and 2%.

ATM withdrawals: ether.fi Cash not disclosed; Nexo 2% + €1.99 after €200 free a month.

A virtual card costs nothing with ether.fi Cash and nothing with Nexo. A physical card costs an undisclosed fee and an undisclosed fee. Neither card has an annual fee on its base tier.

Cashback and rewards

ether.fi Cash cashback: 3% to 4%. Nexo cashback: 0% to 2%.

ether.fi Cash tiers: Core: 3% on the first $2,000 a month; Luxe: 3% on the first $10,000 a month; Pinnacle: 3% on the first $50,000 a month; VIP: 4% on the first $50,000 a month.

Nexo tiers: Debit Mode or under $5,000: 0%; Base: 0.5%, capped at $50 a month; Silver: 0.7%, capped at $100 a month; Gold: 1%, capped at $150 a month; Platinum: 2%, capped at $200 a month.

ether.fi Cash: Membership levels also add category cashback (10% to 30% on AI, streaming and food, capped monthly), travel discounts and account balance protection against smart contract exploits of $10,000 to $500,000, which is not deposit insurance.

Nexo: Cashback applies only to Credit Mode purchases (spending borrowed against your crypto), never to Debit Mode. You need a portfolio of at least $5,000, and your Loyalty tier is set by the share of NEXO Tokens in your portfolio (Silver 1%, Gold 5%, Platinum 10%). Rates shown are for NEXO Token payouts; choosing BTC pays 0.1% to 0.5%. Monthly reward caps reset on the 1st.

Availability and KYC

ether.fi Cash is offered in 91 countries, including Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia and Mexico. ether.fi lists these jurisdictions. In the US the card is available in 31 states and Washington D.C. only. Belgium and Ireland are eligible, but physical cards are not delivered there. In some countries (including Argentina, Indonesia, Mexico, Nigeria and the Philippines) the first virtual card costs $10.

Nexo is offered in 33 countries, including France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom and Argentina. Nexo lists the EEA, Andorra, Monaco, the UK and Argentina "and other selected jurisdictions", so the list is not complete; the app's Check eligibility screen is final. Bulgaria is excluded because Nexo says its services are unavailable there. Personal accounts only. The card can be issued in EUR, GBP or USD. The DiPocket card terms cover EEA and UK residents only; the issuer for Argentina is not published.

ether.fi Cash needs full KYC and Nexo needs full KYC.

The card finder checks both cards against your country, KYC level and must-have features.

Limits, wallets and card types

ether.fi Cash publishes ATM withdrawals of up to $5,000 a day.

Nexo publishes a daily spending limit of €70,000, a monthly limit of €300,000 and ATM withdrawals of up to €2,000 a day.

ether.fi Cash works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, and Nexo works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Nexo issues a virtual card you can use straight away.

Custody and safety

ether.fi Cash scores 60/100. Licensing: we could not confirm a licence for the card issuer on its own website. No incidents or enforcement actions found in the last 36 months. ether.fi describes Cash as a non-custodial account. The ATM fee on Core is not published as a fixed figure.

Nexo scores 63/100. Licensing: issued by a bank or e-money institution regulated in a tier-one jurisdiction. The card is issued through DiPocket UAB. 2023-01-19: Nexo Capital Inc. agreed to pay a $22.5 million SEC penalty, plus $22.5 million to US state regulators, over its unregistered Earn Interest Product. 2026-01-14: California's DFPI fined Nexo Capital Inc. $500,000 for making loans to California residents without a lender licence and without checking their ability to repay. Card funds are not stored with DiPocket; Nexo settles each card transaction, and the card terms say DiPocket "does not issue electronic money to you". Nexo's real-time reserves attestation (Armanino from 2021, Moore Johannesburg from April 2023) no longer has a live page, and we found no dated reserves report for 2025 or 2026.

Full reports: ether.fi Cash safety check and Nexo safety check.

About each card

ether.fi Cash Card is a self-custody Visa card from ether.fi. It tops up with USDC and ETH.

Nexo Card is a custodial Mastercard from Nexo Services Sp. z o.o. (Poland). It tops up with USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH and its balance is held in EUR.

Which card fits you

ether.fi Cash fits if

  • You want to keep crypto in your own wallet until each payment.
  • You spend in foreign currencies often, since its FX markup is lower.
  • You want a higher cashback ceiling (up to 4%).

Nexo fits if

  • You weigh licensing and fund segregation heavily, since it scores higher on our safety check.

Read more: ether.fi Cash fees and details · Nexo fees and details

ether.fi Cash vs Nexo: questions

Which is cheaper, ether.fi Cash or Nexo?
At $2,000 a month with 20% foreign spending and one $200 ATM withdrawal, ether.fi Cash leaves $744 more per year. The result can change with your spending, so the comparison above lets you enter your own amount.
Can I use ether.fi Cash and Nexo in the same country?
Yes, in 8 of the 25 countries we track, including United Kingdom, Germany, France, Spain and Italy.
Is ether.fi Cash or Nexo safer?
Nexo scores higher on our safety check (63/100 against 60/100). The score looks at licensing, custody, fund segregation, proof of reserves and incident history.
Which card has better cashback, ether.fi Cash or Nexo?
ether.fi Cash pays 3% to 4% and Nexo pays 0% to 2%. Caps, tier rules and fees decide what you keep, which is why the yearly figures above include both.

Sources

  1. ether.fi Cash Card: fees · checked September 24, 2026
  2. ether.fi Cash Card: availability · checked September 25, 2026
  3. ether.fi Cash Card: cashback · checked September 24, 2026
  4. ether.fi Cash Card: safety · checked September 24, 2026
  5. Nexo Card: fees · checked September 28, 2026
  6. Nexo Card: availability · checked September 28, 2026
  7. Nexo Card: cashback · checked September 28, 2026
  8. Nexo Card: safety · checked September 28, 2026